We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joule a Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Save Saved
You added The Joule, Dallas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Joule, Dallas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 187 hotels in Dallas
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Joule a Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I had an amazing weekend at the Joule in downtown Dallas. The service was great and the food at the attached restaurant was excellant. Service was exceptional as well. We visited during the Dallas Marathon, whose starting line was within sight of the amazing pool on the 10th floor.

Great place for a romantic get away!

All of down town was lit up with Christmas lights. Very beautiful.

Room Tip: We didn't get to see a suite as they were sold out, but from the description, you should try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    99
    24
    17
    19
See reviews for
43
210
37
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at your hotel 2 weekends ago for one night. We were celebrating his birthday and I want to thank Myron who works at the front desk for setting us up with a great corner room and got us a great rate. Myron wasn't there the night we stayed but he did a really nice job of getting us in and set up. The bellman and valets are also very friendly and helpful.
Marcia M

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Joule December 2 for 1 night! This place is totally amazing! It's a beautiful boutique hotel! It is clean, posh and super cool! The staff is fantastic. From the bellman to the cleaning crew, everyone is super friendly and accomodating! The pool on the roof was my favorite. It is built hanging over the edge of the building! I've never seen anything like it before! And Maurilio the bartender at the pool was great! He had the patience of a saint trying to take care of a group of rowdy guys! He handled things like a pro! A real professional! And kept his cool the whole time. Make sure you go visit Maurilio when you are there! He will treat you like a king/queen and will make your trip the best ever!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Wow, be ready to be treated well and relax! The rooms are top notch and the staff spares no expense to make sure you are comfortable. Great workout room and nice to have room service from Charlie Palmer's restaurant next door!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Joule is my go-to hotel in downtown Dallas. It has a great location, the rooms are chic and comfortable and the staff always goes out of their way to help. Look for Myron at the front desk. He's made my last two trips particularly enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have written this review over a number of days, to ensure it is balanced.
Well located in downtown - central to most downtown activities & landmarks
We had booked to stay here for my husbands birthday.
On arrival we were greeted at reception warmly by staff & offered champagne while we checked in- nice touch.
The rooms are very nice & well appointed. We stayed in a joule suite- there is a sitting area, bedroom & spacious bathroom. There is a complimentary fruit & nut bowl in the room on arrival. The nightly turndown service leaves chocolates & water. So some nice touches.
I requested for all feathers in the room to be removed due to allergies & this was done very quickly & efficiently.
As it was my husbands birthday I had contacted Karla at the hotel to organize a birthday cake & champagne to be delivered to our room at 8:30am- as a surprise. Which was done efficiently on time & beautifully detailed. Karla also organized our dinner reservations at five sixty & transfer to and from the restaurant which went seamlessly. Excellent attention to detail & follow up Karla did a fabulous job.
We did have breakfast at the hotel & this was very nice- I have to say I found the greeting of the waitering staff a little off putting - hi my name is xxx & I will be your servant ( I just did not like the servant bit - maybe being Australian I would prefer a less formal & more equal greeting like hi my name is xxxx & I will be assisting you today). This is a minor point - as overall the service is excellent- attentive & very helpful.
Breakfast service on the last day was slow. So consistency of service varies in the restaurant.
The area that could improve is the level of cleanliness- our sheets were not changed on the last night there- which was disappointing... We did speak to reception about this & apparently sherts dont get changed daily they get changed every four days for continuous stay....a little more attention to detail required in the area of housekeeping I would suggest.
On the last day our bill was placed under our door- it had a number of errors on it. Which again was disapponting to see. We did contact reception & to their credit they did get on to it & make the required adjustments promptly.
It would appear that the level of attention to detail varies greatly depending on the day- which is not what you'd expect from a hotel like this- but to give credit when we raised the few issues we had they did get on to they promptly & resolve the issues.
Overall I would recommend the Joule-
it is a lovely hotel, while service consistency is an issue we are talking about a variance of good to super excellent . I think the initial level of service is so exemplary that it sets a very high standard for the entire stay which may or may not be met. Would stay here again if we were to return to Dallas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is amazing and the staff was by far the best I have ever experienced. Deborah and Karla were the best and I want to thank them personally for the dining recommendation to the car service. Next time I'm in Dallas no question I will stay at the Joule.

Aji Eapen

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule, Dallas Hotel
The Joule Hotel Dallas
The Joule Dallas
Address: 1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#2 Business Hotel in Dallas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#9 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule, named for the international unit of energy, occupies a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic, landmark Dallas building. The hotel is well into a two-year $78 million renovation and expansion expected to be complete by early 2013, including a subterranean spa by ESPA, new suites and multi-story penthouses, the TASCHEN Library and retail by TRAFFIC Los Angeles and TENOVERSIX. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of Old World quality and contemporary design with original marble flooring, richly colored fabrics, custom millwork, chrome, glass and populated throughout by original artwork from names including Andy Warhol, Tony Cragg, Adam Fuss and Richard Phillips. In addition to uniquely designed guestrooms and a spectacular penthouse, the property currently includes a cantilevered glass rooftop pool and bespoke lobby environment. Set in the heart of a burgeoning downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the internationally acclaimed Dallas Arts District, the hotel is ideally located. The Joule - an artfully delivered experience in an iconic setting infused with energy, style and passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joule, Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.