We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the Joule” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Save Saved
You added The Joule, Dallas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Joule, Dallas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 188 hotels in Dallas
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice stay at the Joule”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here to celebrate a friend's birthday, and it is a very nice hotel!

We booked a suite & it was very spacious. My only negative comment is that the suite we had was a tad worn out (downstairs furniture & curtains)...overall, nothing to gripe about. However, management should show their suites more attention to ensure that things are always in great condition.

The Joule is a trendy hotel in a great area of Downtown Dallas, with a hip flair!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    104
    26
    17
    20
See reviews for
46
220
38
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed fot three nights during the weekend.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a small but nice pool on the roof, it was crowded when we arrived. The pool bar service and drinks and good but the food is average and without much to choose from.

The rooms are nicely appointed, elegant but just a little small. They do not have an in room coffee maker and you cannot black it out. There is a white curtain on the window between the shower and the washbasin that allows light to pass inside the room. Not a good thing if you want to sleep until late in the morning.

The hotel signature restaurant is ok, but you also have great restaurant options around the hotel. We tried several on the neighborhood. (The Chop House Burger was a great surprise...)

At the time we stayed they did not have a spa but they where remodeling the side building, more rooms and a new spa are on the way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was my first stay at the Joule hotel in downtown Dallas, but it won't be my last. This hotel has a boutique feel centrally located to high end shopping and fine dining. Upon arrival, I was greeted by the friendly and available valet staff. Next, I had a pleasantly fabulous front desk experience with Ricky. Ricky was efficient and very knowledgeable about the area. He went above and beyond to answer my questions about relocating to the area. My actual stay at the hotel was quite delightful...the quaint and quite rooms provided just the type of retreat that I needed for the weekend. Overall, I had a great experience that was enhanced by great staff from my check-in with Ricky to my check-out with Myron. I will see you all again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was by far one of the most relaxing get aways I've had in a long time! From the time we arrived the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was amazing! Mark personally arranged my massage with the therapist as well as recommending and arranging dinner plans for us off site (makeing sure the other restaurant new it was our anniversary). They offer a car to take you close by places, which is nice with the heat of the summer and Bryce was an exceptional driver! This experience makes me want to come up with more reasons to travel to Dallas just to stay here!

Room Tip: They are currently making renovations and building more rooms, so if you want to sleep late, make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was my first stay at this hotel but will not be my last. In town with a convention and experience was much better than those I knwo staying at the Omni, Fairmont and Sheraton. Complimentary Escalade will take you where ever you need to go in town. Rooms were great, health club larger and uncrowded with plenty of equiment. Pool scene was great. I found the staff to be extrememely helpful and friendly. Charlie Palmer restaurant in the hotel as well as many great restaurants within walking distance.
When I return this is where I will stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at the Joule last weekend...and I have to say we were very impressed. We go to Dallas to visit my son about every 6-8 weeks - and we like to stay in nice places and are willing to spend the money...though we are usually disappointed. Not here. The staff were professional and friendly. We had a problem with the TV and someone came up instantly to fix it. Breakfast was included and it was excellent. The pool was fun and the bar staff was great.
One star held back because of some confusion over the pool. We asked if my cousin and her husband could join us at the pool. They said we could have two guests and anyone over that was $40 per person. I said OK, well, our son is also with us so we need one extra. She said she would not charge our son. So we were given 5 wrist bands for pool access and we spent about $350 at the pool on drinks and food. When we checked out there was a charge for 2 wristbands for $80.
But overall I felt like I was staying in a nice place and we were treated with the courtesy and professionalism. The bed was very comfy and the room was cool and quiet and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I frequently stay at the Joule for business. It is located in downtwon Dallas right off of main and is a terrific hotel if you have work neraby. The staff is extremely professional and has a can do attitude. The rooms are nicely done with terrific bedding, very sound proofed rooms, and great air conditioning which is a must in the summer months. The restaurant downstairs is run by Chef Charlie Plamer and has great food and an affordable breakfast and lunch offering targteting business travellers. The hotel is also located near some nice other restaurants, some high end like the Dallas Fish Market and others more low end (e.g., Tuk Tuk a greta Thai place around the corner). Lastly, the Joule has a complimentary shuttle service within a nearby radius which is veyr convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Address: 1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#1 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#2 Business Hotel in Dallas
#12 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule, named for the international unit of energy, occupies a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic, landmark Dallas building. The hotel is well into a two-year $78 million renovation and expansion expected to be complete by early 2013, including a subterranean spa by ESPA, new suites and multi-story penthouses, the TASCHEN Library and retail by TRAFFIC Los Angeles and TENOVERSIX. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of Old World quality and contemporary design with original marble flooring, richly colored fabrics, custom millwork, chrome, glass and populated throughout by original artwork from names including Andy Warhol, Tony Cragg, Adam Fuss and Richard Phillips. In addition to uniquely designed guestrooms and a spectacular penthouse, the property currently includes a cantilevered glass rooftop pool and bespoke lobby environment. Set in the heart of a burgeoning downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the internationally acclaimed Dallas Arts District, the hotel is ideally located. The Joule - an artfully delivered experience in an iconic setting infused with energy, style and passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joule, Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.