We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is your last resort, sleep in your car” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lawrence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lawrence to your Saves list
Hotel Lawrence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   302 South Houston Street, Dallas, TX 75202 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Searcy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If this is your last resort, sleep in your car”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have never seen a hotel room as small as the double room. There is about 2 feet between the foot of the beds and the opposite wall. The room had a mirror in the bathroom and one inside the closet door. The bathroom is tiny.

One of the desk clerks was so rude. I can't figure out how he keeps his job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    79
    55
    52
    82
See reviews for
23
76
48
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Searcy, Arkansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The room was booked for four adults. What a joke. The room was tiny and had only one small mirror in the bathroom. No other mirror in the room. Impossible to accommodate four grown adults. We actually had to leave and go to another hotel. We tried to cancel our third night and we were treated unfairly. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms do not look like the pictures. The rates were too high for a place this old and rundown.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very disappointing. We were attending a workshop at the convention center and booked there due to the location. Upon arrival(Wednesday late evening) we were met with a very musty odor,a young lady with an older gentleman(named Ms Connie) and helpful desk staff. After seeing our room we decided we would check out and stay the following evenings in a larger room. Since none were available in that hotel we requested that our reservation for FRIDAY night be cancelled. The young man at the desk that Thursday afternoon would not cancel and when asked about the cancellation policy said that it is well known that reservations can not be changed during a football weekend. He simply would not help me as I explained I knew nothing about a football game and was giving over 24 hours notice. It turned a tad ugly, his attitude was that of ambivalence with a side of amusement.I wonder if the occupancy code was being violated by having 4 people in such a small space?? We literally had to line up in order to move around the room. In no way would I give a positive recommendation...

Room Tip: Head somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A DUMP! Two elevators with only one working all weekend. TX-Ou a very busy time! Fights and sex in stairwells! I asked and paid for a king got a double bed. What year was this place renovated? 1979? No room service or vending machines!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!! Especially for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you are looking for the Holiday Inn you will be disappointed. This unique property is in a class by itself. Built in 1925 the renovation has preserved the original character of the place. The rooms are small as was the standard. Some of the furniture is original as are some light fixtures. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The baths have been updated. The towels were thick and felt luxurious.

The location is easily accessible from I-35; convenient to the metro station and near the Visitor Center. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Lenny was on the front desk when I arrived. This hotel originally was built to accomodate rail travelers.

The breakfast area was light and pleasant. I had a Texas shaped waffle and plenty of coffee. There were other items available. Had lunch in the adjoining Founders Grill. Excellent!

Parking is separate. My stay was totally pleasant and reasonably priced. It was an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonac, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here a couple nights and actually enjoyed it. It is right in downtown and you can walk to a few places. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that no matter what, you have to pay for parking whether in the lot, on the street, whatever. But, the service was nice, the rooms were decent, and everyone was friendly. The elevator is painfully slow, but recognize you're not paying the rates as some of the pricier hotels around town. Would definitely stay again though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I just spent 3 nights at the Hotel Lawrence, a block from the Dealey Plaza Kennedy Museum and a short walk from the Hyatt at Reunion Square. First things first - I was apprehensive after reading scathing reviews on Google maps (comments sections). Those comments were defamatory and off based, and I feel bad for the staff here, who I found extremely pleasant.

It is not a modern hotel, but the queen bed was new and comfortable, and the bathroom nicely upgraded. The restaurant is good, the location good. It's a lot cheaper than the Hyatt or Omni and I am very glad I chose it, I saved $300 and feel I stayed in a nice historic hotel. The carpets are a little dated, the free internet had several hiccups-restarts. Not perfect but better than basic, I hope they aren't damaged by the hateful reviews I found on google.

Room Tip: Satisfied after 3 nights, great alternative to nearby Hyatt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lawrence

Address: 302 South Houston Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lawrence 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawrence Hotel Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lawrence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.