We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - get a corner room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Magnolia Hotel Dallas to your Saves list
The Magnolia Hotel Dallas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $20 on select meals
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
denver
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay - get a corner room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

Stayed here over memorial day weekend (thursday and friday night) our stay was great. The room was clean and well kept. The bed was comfortable and sheets were nice. The best part was the view from our room. When I made the reservation, I asked for a high floor, and when we checked in I asked for a corner room, as I heard those rooms had alot of windows; and boy were they right. Let's see....the prior reviewer who's review is titled "poor" might have suffered from all the construction going on the street below -- we even heard noise on the 21st floor. I can't speak to his comments on the continnental breakfast except to say that wasn't the continental breakfast -- it was the "hot breakfast" you could $9.95 for. I thought the free breakfast was great - 3 or 4 assorted muffins/pastries, 2 kinds of juice, 3 kinds of yogurt, 2 different cereals, milk, friut, and starbucks coffee. Overall our stay was great, and I'd stay there again if I went back to Dallas. As far as I'm concerned the magnolia is a great deal

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,535
    596
    212
    88
    79
See reviews for
350
706
182
878
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

I was in town for a tradeshow and stayed here. This has to be one of my favorite places. It is a historic building, yet they have managed to renovate everything I layed eyes on. Upon entering, you are greeted by young and smiling bellhops and as you step into the stylish lobby you can smell a nice aroma. This scent follows you every where you go. Spectacular, clean, great scented, spacious rooms, roman tubs, and my room on the 23rd floor had an awesome view.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of Rooms, Well Scented/Aromatic Lobby and Rooms
  • Disliked — That they Do Not serve lunch, only breakfast and dinner
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

We booked this hotel based on ratings and virtual tour. We asked for high room, when we got there at 4:00PM we were told all the rooms with good views were already filled. We were put in a room above the 15th floor but it was next to the elevators and the noise from them was intolerable. We requested a quiet room and were moved to a lower floor, away from the elevator. This was close enough to the street that the street noise could now be heard. Being too tired to move again we gave up and stayed where we were. The noise finally died down and we were able to get some sleep. The bed at least was comfortable, and the sheets, although the fitted sheet was inside out, were clean. The continental breakfast didn't look good, eggs appeared under cooked and the sausage over cooked. We checked out sooner than expected.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

My co-workers and I stayed at the Magnolia during a business trip. The hotel upgraded us free of charge.

They put us on the 11th floor in beautiful and spacious suites.

Very clean, convenient and comfortable. Suites are ideal for long visits.

  • Liked — Spacious Suite
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

The Magnolia was a convention hotel choice in March 2007. It's situated in downtown Dallas - lots of nifty Art Nouveau buildings nearby. This was the old Magnolia Oil building. The elevator lobby is gorgeous - old lamps and the flying Pegasus logos on the elevators. There is a little sign in each elevator (holds 8, but is roomy) to please be patient with their quirks. They were quite the modern conveyance when installed over 100 years ago! The Adolphus Hotel is just across the street - peek in and see the lobby! The original Neiman-Marcus store is just up the block (great lunch cafeteria), and the Urban Market is wonderful for snacks and water. Don't miss the Art Nouveau stained glass on the Joseph Banks store across the street - wonderful scene of Thor handing down electricity to the world. Thomas Edison is a gargoyle on that building! The Starbucks in the lobby is very handy.
PROS: Hotel was basically full. I had a single queen room on the 19th floor. Elevator service was average to speedy. The halls were extremely quiet. Nice leather easy chair, wonderful big bathroom with drawers and a nice cabinet, large work desk, free fridge, lots of big windows and a nice view of the old Art Nouveau buildings. Staff was friendly and courteous - both front desk and bell staff. Room service was amazing. I ordered a wedge salad and a cheese BLT. It was $17 - with an additional tip!! The meal was huge. Homemade - warm! - cookies before bed in the lounge were a treat each night. Big closet - with a light inside - and the full length (large) mirror were a help. A light in the shower was also nice.
CONS: The bedding wasn't at all what I expected. My sheets didn't quite fit the bed, and they had been washed so many times they felt threadbare. The top sheet had two small holes in it, in fact. The pillows were small and flat - I used three of them to sleep on. They were clean, but they were never changed in the three nights I was there. The bathtub is designed so that the water flows out freely onto the floor during a shower. Be prepared to mop up! The drawers are small and slim - no room for large items. The internet wireless was cranky, but it did work each day.
Overall, I would definitely stay here again for a good price - but I would ask for different sheets. I had a relaxing few days!

  • Liked — Historic property, interesting room design, great room service value, warm cookies at night
  • Disliked — Bedding not up to standards of the rest of the property, cranky wireless internet connection
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

Pros: historic old hotel, larger rooms, central location, clean, nice bedding
Cons:minimally staffed, elevators from the tower of terror (lurch a lot, 20 minute waits from top floors not uncommon, only hold 8 people), very dark rooms (one window facing a wall and very few lights), high speed internet bogs down after 6am (?DSL line) to <1mbps, desk chair well below working level unless you are over 7 feet tall

  • Liked — history
  • Disliked — elevators
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

We spent a lovely, relaxing weekend at the Magnolia. Our room was on the 18th floor which gave a great view of the city. The room was nicely appointed and very comfortable.

Don't miss the evening happy hour and milk and cookies!

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

We had a great experience at the Magnolia and will stay here again.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Magnolia Hotel Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Address: 1401 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#27 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnolia Hotel Dallas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Magnolia Hotel Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnolia Hotel Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.