We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel--great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Magnolia Hotel Dallas to your Saves list
The Magnolia Hotel Dallas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $20 on select meals
Ranked #13 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel--great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Wife and I stayed here for two nights and loved it (and the location). Upon arrival, valet parking service (there's no self service) was quick to respond and provided us with a claim check that provided easy to understand instructions for car retrieval via "text" request. Check in was quick and friendly--clerk gave me the option for a lower- or higher-level room--I opted for lower (fourth floor) but would recommend a much higher floor for the downtown view. Our room (while allowing quick up/down on the elevator or stairs) traded the quick travel for no view. This hotel was completed in 1922 and has that elegant look on the exterior and interior architecture. The rooms themselves do not have that period feel--rather, the furnishings and features are modern and elegant. The room itself was spacious and comfortable. Flat screen TV with cable, complimentary wifi, coffee maker, safe, sofa, and extra-comfortable bed made this stay extra nice. The bathroom was large with oval-shaped tub/shower and plenty of counter space. Hotel provides complimentary (in the lounge) daily hot breakfast buffet, late afternoon beer/wine social, and evening cookies and milk. A 24-hour fitness center is on site, but we did not use that amenity. The area surrounding the hotel is being renovated, but there's still plenty of great places to dine/shop/explore. We were there to attend a wedding at the Old Red Museum (about a ten-minute walk from the hotel) which is co-located across from Dealey Plaza and the Texas Book Depository/Grassy Knoll (infamous JFK assassination site). There were quite a few seemingly vagrant folks in this area of downtown, but neither my wife nor I felt unsafe. They were a part of the scene just as much as the hipsters and locals walking their dogs. There was a noticeable (but not oppressive) police presence--the entire area felt "safe." Rental car retrieval only required a text to the valet and our car was there within five minutes--very convenient. We would certainly recommend this hotel as a place to stay in Dallas!

Room Tip: If a view is important choose the higher level rooms. Lounge (with complimentary breakfast buffet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    595
    212
    88
    79
See reviews for
350
706
182
877
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for just one night on a work trip to Dallas. Very nice central hotel. Comfortable room and close to a good choice of restaurants and bars as well as walking distance of the JFK sites. The complimentary Happy Hour, wifi and breakfast are definite pluses. We would recommend the Magnolia and be delighted to stay again next time we visit Dallas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesville, la
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was my second stay here and this time my teenage twin girls were with me on the trip and absolutely loved the cookies and milk at night! The gym was also very nice! We stayed in a room with two queen beds and it was very comfortable, clean, and plenty of room. The bathrooms have oversized tubs with a nice shower. The breakfast buffet was great--sausage links, bacon, eggs, French toast, grits, cereal, yogurt, and fruit. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The valet guys were awesome and the lady at the desk(wish I would have gotten her name) was a lifesaver!! My GPS went crazy and we couldn't find where we needed to go in the rain...so we went back to the hotel and she printed several maps and highlighted and gave us the best and shortest route. She really took her time with us and it was greatly appreciated! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1421 and didn't have much of a view--it was a view of the Adolphus right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. The suite I had (on the 13th floor which was weird) was HUGE! If only it was for more than one night. The milk ad cookies service, breakfast and complimentary breakfast was great. And this is why the potential for great. The room was clean and nice - oh did I mention HUGE. However the bathroom needed remodeling (I should have taken photos - sorry). The tile was dingy and crack and the bathtub looks old. In general it just makes the bathroom feel dirty even though it is not. The the toilet was clogged - didn't flush properly. When I arrived and lifted the toilet seat there was water all over the inside of the seat and back. I later realized when I went to flush that someone had probably flushed the toilet with the lid down and never realized it was over flowing. They did have good service though but as a clean freak I just can't rate very good when the bathroom felt dirty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Location is really the name of the game here. The check-in process is more than easy enough, and they have free drinks in the evening, free cookies and milk (yes seriously) around bedtime, and free wifi. I'm not sure what else you could ask for. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and quiet so it's pretty easy to get some rest if you really need it. But as a word of warning, check out a little early if you can because the valet is pretty hectic at that time.

Room Tip: the Signature Suites don't have much of a view, but they are flat out AWESOME
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalde, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I came in town for a concert with my sister and we chose this hotel because we liked to location and was referred by a friend. The breakfast was delicious and so many choices, the room was very clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable! I would definitely stay here again. My only complaint would be a rude receptionist. I hope to come back again with my husband this time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband raved about this historical hotel so we went for an 7th anniversary. We arrived on Friday May 17th and stayed two nights. You drive your car up to the hotel on a busy street and wait for someone to help you ( I actually had to get out of the car and request assistance). The lobby is dark and small - the room was on a higher floor but small and the bed was terrible. The breakfast buffet was a C+ at best - I was not happy with this hotel and will never stay there again.

Room Tip: stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Magnolia Hotel Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Address: 1401 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#27 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnolia Hotel Dallas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Magnolia Hotel Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnolia Hotel Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.