We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Save Saved
You added The Magnolia Hotel Dallas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Magnolia Hotel Dallas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off
Ranked #13 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights for a business trip. First impressions were very positive: very nice reception staff, clean and spacious lobby and bar areas and a large, very clean room. Also loved the fact that customers were given drinks vouchers for Happy Hour every day and that there were milk & cookies in the bar in the evening. These little touches make a real difference.

My room was quite large and comfortable - the only downside was that the lighting was a bit inadequate. Difficult to put on your makeup! But nice to see coffee making and ironing facilities, lots of soft, large towels, lots of pillows on the bed, a big enough TV etc.

The bar area on the 2nd floor was really nice. On the first and second evenings, I had drinks there with colleagues and felt very much at home. On the other two nights, however, there were private functions in that area and the free happy hour drinks were served in the lobby. Think: plastic cups and not enough seating. I certainly did not enjoy that and feel that private functions should not take over common areas in a hotel. I missed having somewhere to sit and work (other than my room!) those evenings.

Breakfast was nice on days 1 and 2 as well. However, on the other two days, there were only paper cups and plates and plastic cutlery - that's really not worthy of a decent hotel. Felt a bit like camping (although the room cost more than that!). This is an area the hotel needs to get under control. Food-wise, the selection was nice (hot and cold selection, good coffee, etc) and perfectly fine for a hotel like this. I'd even say it was better than in some places I've stayed in :-)

The location was good - in the heart of downtown with restaurants and bars as well as a few shops nearby. Local attractions like the Sixth Floor Museum are in walking distance. The complimentary shuttle that the hotel operate for guests was also handy so I could explore a few areas of Dallas without spending a fortune on taxis.

Would I stay here again? Yes, probably. I'd just hope that management have sorted out the issues regarding the common areas and that I'd get a proper cup and plate for my breakfast!

Room Tip: Some of my colleagues said that their rooms were a bit noisy - too close to air conditioning units o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    527
    182
    76
    72
See reviews for
312
641
166
802
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Room was clean and spacious. Enjoyed the reception in the bar while playing billiards. Very relaxing and breakfast was great! If you need to be in downtown Dallas, this is a great option. Near shopping, restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, TX
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel was great! Best price for a downtown hotel in all of Dallas. 4 star quality at 3 star price!!! Location in perfect if you're looking to be in the heart of Downtown Dallas. Be prepared to pay a pretty penny for parking ($24 a night?!) as you would at any downtown hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesburg, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I would stay here every time I'm in Dallas! The hotel is a great value with a location that can't be beat. The staff is friendly and they go over the top to make guests feel comfortable. The evening reception is nice and it was great having a local beer as the comp beverage instead of run of the bill Bud or Miller Light. I have stayed here twice and have had a great experience both times. I look forward to coming back to Dallas to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was within walking distance to my business meeting which was the main positive for me. They do have shuttle service but that doesn't start until 7 am which didn't work for me. The rooms were ok but very dark. I found it too dark to work in the room in the evenings. The restauant was just average at best and the bar area was way too open and bright. I am told they serve a nice complimentary breakfast and milk and cookies at night but I did not try either.
Overall, an okay place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Excellent location and accommodations for my business trip. Would recommend tis hotel for any event. The hotel is in a great location to a lot of nice restaurants. There is free wifi (which is becoming rare), complimentary drinks in the early evening, cookies and milk before bed and very good breakfast in the morning. Everything was clean and the valet service was awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A friend and I were running the Dallas Half Marathon and wanted a hotel close to the race start so we wouldn't have to hassle with traffic and parking the morning of the race. The hotels were booking fast but I found this with one of the online travel companies. It was a really good price for a Queen bed suite. The hotel is right downtown, close to many nice eateries, and within walking distance to the Dallas Convention Center. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. When we got to the room, we were just taken aback at how spacious it was. It was like a small apartment. Another friend joined us because she had decided to run as well but had no place to stay. I said, "Well, I'm not sure what the sleeping arrangements will be like because there is only one bed." No worries. We opened the door to the room and "WOW!" A fully operational kitchen was to the left - dishes, full microwave and refrigerator, garbages disposal, blender, coffee maker, toaster! A small dining area with a table and four chairs; a living area with a nice sized couch, arm chair, coffee table, end table, and big flat-screened TV; bathroom was large for a hotel room - long with the shower/tub on one end and toilet and sink at the other. Then there was the bedroom, a completely separate room with a very nice queen sized bed, end tables, flat-screened TV, dresser, and a medium sized walk-in closet. This was a beautiful, clean, spacious room. Our extra guest had no problem sleeping on the roomy couch.

The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. They gave us a complimentary extra hour the next day for checkout. There were complimentary milk and cookies the evening before (a nice touch). Unfortunately, we didn't take advantage of the breakfast the next morning. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Magnolia Hotel Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Address: 1401 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#10 Business Hotel in Dallas
#15 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnolia Hotel Dallas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Magnolia Hotel Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnolia Hotel Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.