We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 197 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights for a business trip. First impressions were very positive: very nice reception staff, clean and spacious lobby and bar areas and a large, very clean room. Also loved the fact that customers were given drinks vouchers for Happy Hour every day and that there were milk & cookies in the bar in the evening. These little touches make a real difference.

My room was quite large and comfortable - the only downside was that the lighting was a bit inadequate. Difficult to put on your makeup! But nice to see coffee making and ironing facilities, lots of soft, large towels, lots of pillows on the bed, a big enough TV etc.

The bar area on the 2nd floor was really nice. On the first and second evenings, I had drinks there with colleagues and felt very much at home. On the other two nights, however, there were private functions in that area and the free happy hour drinks were served in the lobby. Think: plastic cups and not enough seating. I certainly did not enjoy that and feel that private functions should not take over common areas in a hotel. I missed having somewhere to sit and work (other than my room!) those evenings.

Breakfast was nice on days 1 and 2 as well. However, on the other two days, there were only paper cups and plates and plastic cutlery - that's really not worthy of a decent hotel. Felt a bit like camping (although the room cost more than that!). This is an area the hotel needs to get under control. Food-wise, the selection was nice (hot and cold selection, good coffee, etc) and perfectly fine for a hotel like this. I'd even say it was better than in some places I've stayed in :-)

The location was good - in the heart of downtown with restaurants and bars as well as a few shops nearby. Local attractions like the Sixth Floor Museum are in walking distance. The complimentary shuttle that the hotel operate for guests was also handy so I could explore a few areas of Dallas without spending a fortune on taxis.

Would I stay here again? Yes, probably. I'd just hope that management have sorted out the issues regarding the common areas and that I'd get a proper cup and plate for my breakfast!

Room Tip: Some of my colleagues said that their rooms were a bit noisy - too close to air conditioning units o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Room was clean and spacious. Enjoyed the reception in the bar while playing billiards. Very relaxing and breakfast was great! If you need to be in downtown Dallas, this is a great option. Near shopping, restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lopez4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, TX
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel was great! Best price for a downtown hotel in all of Dallas. 4 star quality at 3 star price!!! Location in perfect if you're looking to be in the heart of Downtown Dallas. Be prepared to pay a pretty penny for parking ($24 a night?!) as you would at any downtown hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesburg, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I would stay here every time I'm in Dallas! The hotel is a great value with a location that can't be beat. The staff is friendly and they go over the top to make guests feel comfortable. The evening reception is nice and it was great having a local beer as the comp beverage instead of run of the bill Bud or Miller Light. I have stayed here twice and have had a great experience both times. I look forward to coming back to Dallas to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was within walking distance to my business meeting which was the main positive for me. They do have shuttle service but that doesn't start until 7 am which didn't work for me. The rooms were ok but very dark. I found it too dark to work in the room in the evenings. The restauant was just average at best and the bar area was way too open and bright. I am told they serve a nice complimentary breakfast and milk and cookies at night but I did not try either.
Overall, an okay place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dar241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Excellent location and accommodations for my business trip. Would recommend tis hotel for any event. The hotel is in a great location to a lot of nice restaurants. There is free wifi (which is becoming rare), complimentary drinks in the early evening, cookies and milk before bed and very good breakfast in the morning. Everything was clean and the valet service was awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A friend and I were running the Dallas Half Marathon and wanted a hotel close to the race start so we wouldn't have to hassle with traffic and parking the morning of the race. The hotels were booking fast but I found this with one of the online travel companies. It was a really good price for a Queen bed suite. The hotel is right downtown, close to many nice eateries, and within walking distance to the Dallas Convention Center. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. When we got to the room, we were just taken aback at how spacious it was. It was like a small apartment. Another friend joined us because she had decided to run as well but had no place to stay. I said, "Well, I'm not sure what the sleeping arrangements will be like because there is only one bed." No worries. We opened the door to the room and "WOW!" A fully operational kitchen was to the left - dishes, full microwave and refrigerator, garbages disposal, blender, coffee maker, toaster! A small dining area with a table and four chairs; a living area with a nice sized couch, arm chair, coffee table, end table, and big flat-screened TV; bathroom was large for a hotel room - long with the shower/tub on one end and toilet and sink at the other. Then there was the bedroom, a completely separate room with a very nice queen sized bed, end tables, flat-screened TV, dresser, and a medium sized walk-in closet. This was a beautiful, clean, spacious room. Our extra guest had no problem sleeping on the roomy couch.

The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. They gave us a complimentary extra hour the next day for checkout. There were complimentary milk and cookies the evening before (a nice touch). Unfortunately, we didn't take advantage of the breakfast the next morning. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastTexan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#3 of 197 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 4,430 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#4 of 197 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
Adolphus Hotel
#26 of 197 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#21 of 197 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 stars 2,337 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 197 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown

Address: 1401 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#11 Business Hotel in Dallas
#34 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Travelocity so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing