We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complementary drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Magnolia Hotel Dallas to your Saves list
The Magnolia Hotel Dallas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $20 on select meals
Ranked #13 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Complementary drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel was clean, the complementary drinks were great, and I would definitely stay here again! We were able to get a suite on "sale" and the room was very nice for the price paid. It was relatively close to where we were headed (the House of Blues) and the free shuttle service was a bonus. They will take you anywhere in a 3 mile radius for free until midnight!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    595
    212
    88
    79
See reviews for
350
706
182
877
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Cannot say enough about the valet staff in helpfulness and courtesy. Hotel room set up like apartment and bedroom and bathroom small. Lack of any information about hotel services and area from front desk or in room surprising and were told by front desk the hotel does not do "paper". But the location to nightlife and valet staff more than make up for the minor irritants of room. Talked to many people at other hotels all saying they wish they had stayed at the Magnolia! Plans are to stay again our next trip to Dallas!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. They kindly upgraded us to a King Superior on the 26st floor the views over Dallas were amazing. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was huge with a large bathtub. Walking distance to JFK sights and was close to many restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My daughter and I just came back from a girls weekend away and we stayed on a Friday and Saturday night. The hotel has a special charm to it because of its historic background. That said, don't go expecting a fresh, modern room with updated anything. Walls and doors are grey, and while the rooms have plenty of lamps, the grey surroundings just made the rooms seem dark. I specifically asked for a higher floor to cut down on traffic/downtown noise...which we got...but, unfortunately, the sound of buses and sirens kept me tossing throughout the night. Again, I think that has to do with the age of the building.

We had a corner room on the 17th floor...it was very spacious and clean. We parked with the valet and never had any problems coming and going. The bellmen were friendly and helpful. We requested new towels on our second night and they were prompt bringing them to our room. We did not take advantage of the free breakfast, but did go down one night for the milk and cookies...they were delicious.

Overall, it was a nice stay. However, I don't think we'll be staying again due to the outside street noise and the dark rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel provided us with the perfect location for dinner, access to the American Airlines Center for our event, and nice picture moments due to the Christmas decorations near the hotel. The hotel offered a nice cocktail hour that Saturday from 5:30 to 6:30, which included two complimentary cocktails (beer or wine) per occupant. It also offered cookies and milk from 8-10 PM, but we were unable to participate in this due to plans. A complimentary breakfast was also provided, which offered more than what I thought it would. I enjoyed it! I would have liked more than one mirror in the room besides the one in the bathroom, but that was manageable. I would stay here again if I were attending an event downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our stay at the Magnolia in Dallas was absolutely perfect. From the moment you pull up to the valet service, to the front desk, and up to your room--everything was top notch. Jennifer at the front desk went above and beyond to help us and make our stay a good one. She's definitely a great asset to the hotel. We only used the shuttle service once, but I wish we would have taken advantage of it more. The driver was kind and very informative about the area.

We stayed in a Queen Suite and while it was a huge room and very nice, the bed did not seem to be a queen. The full kitchen was a plus and we stayed on the 23rd floor so we had a great view. The breakfast, evening reception, and milk & cookies were just added bonuses to this amazing hotel!

We loved being within walking distance of restaurants and the JFK memorial. It is an excellent area to stay in!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The suites are roomy and well appointed. The bathrooms are huge! The location is great -- 15 minutes or less to everything we wanted to do in Dallas and with plenty of nice restaurants within walking distance. We enjoy window-shopping at the flagship Nieman Marcus store up the block. Love the sweet perks offered by Magnolia Hotel such as the happy hour from 5:30 - 6:30 with complimentary drinks, the nightly cookies & milk from 8:00 - 10:00 and the free breakfast that goes way beyond what most hotels offer.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Magnolia Hotel Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Hotel Dallas

Address: 1401 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#27 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Magnolia Hotel Dallas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel Dallas is a downtown Dallas, Texas hotel near American Airlines Center. This boutique hotel offers extended stay accommodations, corporate lodging, and venues for weddings & meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Magnolia Hotel Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Dallas
Dallas Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magnolia Hotel Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.