We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6101 Hillcrest Avenue, Dallas, TX 75205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Package
Ranked #23 of 193 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We recently took a quick weekend away in Dallas, and stayed at the Lumen on a recommendation from a friend. It had a cool, Hollywood Hills in the 60s vibe. The glass lobby and bar surrounds the pool and is stylishly decorated. Drinks from the bar were great.

Beware that there are rooms without windows here - I mistakenly booked one. Mine was called the "King Room" and I don't recall that the website designated that it was an interior room with no window to outside. That was pretty odd and caused me to lose some points with my fiance.

Otherwise, the bed and linens were good, it was clean and quiet, and the location was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    94
    26
    14
    5
See reviews for
59
66
37
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very very cool local find. Great service. For example, I was in bar and asked hostess if they ha an iPhone charger cord as I forgot mine. They did not have an extra one so she went to her car and got her personal one and loaned it to me while I was there. Great place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great proximity to SMU. Excellent valets out front - they do an excellent job! Otherwise, this hotel is bare bones basic decor-wise and with mostly poor service. It's the most uncomfortable Kimpton I've ever stayed at. The front desk is not very friendly upon check-in and the service in the restaurant is absolutely deplorable. For breakfast, I can get far better service in a diner. Why should it take 10 minutes to get coffee? The food is decent and the menu rather interesting but the service is slow and inattentive. The big wide tables are silly because during a busy time it is so noisy in this acoustically challenged space that you have to shout to be heard. The guest room amenities are spartan...exactly 2 towels, no shower caps and exactly 2 glasses. That's fine, but we booked the room for 3 and had to start making calls as soon as we checked in for more of everything. The hideous leopard robes are scary ugly. "Yoga mats in every room" is prominently advertised but I never saw one on either visit. Too bad, I could have used one because it's so stressful to stay here.

Room Tip: Street side is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Nc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Experienced all of the best aspects I have come to expect as a Kimpton In Touch member. For anyone not aware, the perks are substantial and only require signing up. The entire staff from valet at check in to housekeeping and desk at check out could not have been more friendly and courteous. As standard to all Kimptons I have stayed in, a coffee pot in the room was supplied with a call to the desk. So if you need one (or anything else), just ask. The only glitch was the sliding door to the bathroom which took some time to get 'unstuck'. But all things considered we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a bad room. The soundproofing is so good that it doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Lumen for one night. We booked two rooms. We were on the second floor in the original building. One room 207 had a balcony facing the west (ally) and the building behind. So, no privacy. But the room was beautifully decorated. The shower was large & nicely updated. Granite vanities. The other room 212 was a tad bit smaller and layed out different, but overlooked the pool. It had a small window with plantation shutters. So you had to go stand at the window to see out of it. The glass shower was large & was actually in the King bedroom. It had a shower curtain to give privacy if you wanted. The granite vanity was also in the main room, the water closet was in it's on tiny room with a door. Carpet was clean, shower was awesome with great jets, bed was great, the ac worked like a charm.

We didn't have time to spend in the pool, but did hang out in the lobby on the comfy couches that looked out at the pool thru floor to ceiling windows.... it looked inviting. The bar & staff were great. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but the menu looked good.

The staff was above our expectation. Everyone was more than friendly & there for anything we might need or want. Robin at the front desk rocks!

You have to valet your car, but it was reasonably priced & they got our car fast every time.

Check out was a breeze......no issues...AT ALL.

I think we have found our new "go-to" hotel in Dallas!!

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED our stay!

Room Tip: Depends on what you want.... small hotel (4 stories) no "real" views that we found, rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at Lumen for a business trip to visit colleagues at SMU--it's very conveniently located across the street from the campus and within walking distance to some restaurants and shopping. The hotel was beautiful, spotlessly clean and very modern. The pool area was lovely, with shaded lounges and chaises in a shallow part of the pool. I had a room that overlooked the pool; it was spacious and comfortable and the bed was fantastic. Amenities included in the room: fluffy leopard-print bathrobes; snack basket and cold drinks; hair dryer; nice lotion/shampoo/soap. The restaurant, The Front Room, had very delicious food! I loved the shrimp and grits. The wine list was pricey but the service was excellent.

That being said, there were a few things that annoyed me. One thing was that the bathroom door was a sliding door (not a pocket door) that didn't close all the way. There was an interior door to the toilet area that did shut completely. Also, the only towel rod was behind the door in the toilet area. There was no coffee or hot water available in the rooms except for room service. Internet was available for a fee anywhere in the hotel--the lobby and restaurant had no free wifi, which is unusual. I wanted to quickly download a single book and didn't care to pay for wifi for the whole day. Lastly, the "business center" computer--which I always use to print my boarding pass--cost ~$6 per minute and $0.50 per page (roughly) to print. I have never had to pay to print before at a hotel of any price range.

I think this hotel would be lovely if you had the time to get up and linger over a cup of coffee in the restaurant (or wait for room service) and use the pool. While I know this is par for the course with pricier hotels, free in-room wifi (or at least in the lobby) is a big selling point to me when choosing a hotel, especially for business travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I am a big Kimpton fan and, as fortune would have it when I was planning a trip to the George W. Bush Presidential Center, I found a Kimpton hotel within walking distance. I loved the architectural style and interior design of the hotel. The bedroom was a delight with a very comfortable bed and a well-appointed bathroom. Disappointing factor was that the hot water in the shower was not as hot as I would have liked but the low-level jets were great!
The pool area was awesome, especially in the 100 degree heat, and the rooftop terrace a welcome refuge after sunset, catching any breeze and delighting the eyes with views of twinkling lights in the distance.
My only complaint was that the food in the restaurant was too salty for my liking.
Overall however, still excellent and a fantastic value, especially if you are visiting SMU.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
The Highland Dallas
#25 of 193 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Hilton Dallas Park Cities
#29 of 193 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#4 of 193 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 193 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 6101 Hillcrest Avenue, Dallas, TX 75205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#15 Family Hotel in Dallas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#38 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lumen, a Kimpton Hotel, brilliantly illuminates your stay in Dallas. Ideally situated across from SMU campus and adjacent to the swanky Social bistro, its chic retro style provides modern comfort that feels fresh and inviting. Located in the affluent Park Cities neighborhood, our luxury boutique hotel is near exceptional shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is also close to the Dallas World Aquarium, Meyerson Symphony Center, Dallas Art Museum and the American Airlines Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lumen Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.