We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Perfect for SMU” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6101 Hillcrest Avenue, Dallas, TX 75205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Perfect for SMU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is right across the street from SMU. Valet only parking. Outdoor heated pool. Nice bar/restaurant area. Supper was good but not too impressed with the breakfast. Rooms are clean, comfortable, nice big windows, quiet. Our room had a mini fridge but no coffee-maker (apparently they offer coffee downstairs in lobby area), and no in-room microwave. l Would stay again if going to a SMU function.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello, I am so glad we were a great fit for your visit to SMU. You are correct we do not have coffee makers in the rooms but we do offer the best, coolest, hippest coffee service in the morning so we can all get together to start our day. But next time if you would like a coffee maker just let us know as we do have them upon request. Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    77
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
47
54
35
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've stayed in numerous Kimpton hotels, and this is by far the most disappointing.

I've stayed at the Lumen three times. The first two it was under renovation, so I made allowances, but that's done now and it is still below acceptable standards. The rooms are nicely appointed but small (common in Kimpton chain) but the halls are dark and dingy, the fitness center and business center are both rudimentary, the air conditioning is noisy and the restaurant is uninspiring.

SPECIAL WARNING FOR VERIZON CUSTOMERS: the hotel is in a weak spot in Verizon's coverage, and the way the building is configured many of the rooms get absolutely no Verizon reception.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Disappointing.... Ouch I am sorry we did not meet your expectations since the renovation. I hope that you will give us anohter chance as we are always looking to take what guest say and imporve on all comments. Please feel free to reach out to me in the future if you will be coming back to Dallas. We have great suites that I think would be great for the size of room you are looking for. I hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Directly across the street from SMU. If you get a room facing the campus, it can get a little loud. Room was very clean and hotel staff were terrific. Hotel is valet parking only and parking is $13 a night. Its in a very safe location. My room was well appointed and very clean. However, housekeeping did not inventory the mini-bar before I checked in, so upon check out, I got charged for a bunch of stuff that wasn't mine. But the clerk was very friendly and took all of the charges off. The doors shut super loud and the walls are thin. Room service menu was okay, and service was really fast. I guess they have older mattresses, because the bed was lumpy.

My friend slept on the pull out bed and there were hairs from a specific bodily location, and they weren't hers....kinda gross.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. But sorry to hear about the lumpy mattress and the other issues your guest had. I have spoken will all staff members involved and our linen company as well. But so glad you enjoyed room service and that it was fast. I love FAST FOOD!!!!
We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The lobby area is beautiful and elegant. We had a quick and easy check-in and the staff was very friendly. The rooms are spacious and tasteful. We got a fantastic and huge shower stall. The free wine happy hour is lovely. Although we miss it on the second day of our stay, the staff at the reception insisted to serve us a glass of wine from free after the happy hour was over. The hotel restaurant is also well decorated and the food is good. Although it's mostly comfort food, it was very tasty. I particularly recommend the meat loaf and the banana pudding. The internet connection was good and free. The parking valets were very sweet and efficient but the parking daily rates were a bit expensive. It should have been free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Now this is the type of review I like. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! Please come back soon! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First of all - I normally really enjoy my Kimpton experiences but the Lumen broke my streak. I was staying in Dallas for 5 nights at the Lumen for work. The lobby is cool and I was feeling good about it until I got to my room. The room itself was fine but I tried to use my cell phone and no service for Verizon. I went down to the front desk and they informed me that Verizon has basically no service in the old building which is where I am staying. I asked if I could switch buildings since I was there for work (using my cell phone constantly) and there for five nights. There were no rooms available in the other buildings. Needless to say - it was very annoying to have to go to the lobby any time I needed to make a call.

I get up at 5:30am the first morning to get to a meeting on time and turn on the shower. There is some sort of red stuff next to the drain that appears to be blood and there are a few tiles missing on the ground where there is now mold growing. I had to be in my car by 6am so straddled the shower drain and took a VERY quick shower. I let the front desk know as I left and they said they would have the housekeeper deep clean my shower. I did get a message in my room when I got back that evening. The red stuff was just a stain not blood. Where I was relieved - I thought it odd that they were fine with just leaving it there. Couldn't they use bleach and clean it or but white caulk over it?

These two issues really overshadowed any positive experiences I had and I will not be staying again at the Lumen. They obviously focused more on the public spaces than they did on the rooms.

Room Tip: if you have to stay here - make sure you ask for the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your concerns you had during your stay. I have addressed this with our housekeeping team about the drain. We dont use bleach because it is so harsh for other guest but we have found a new product that we LOVE and it is taking care of the hard water staines around the drain. I hope that when you come back you will give us anohter try so we can show you we can give you A GREAT Kimpton experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just across from the SMU campus, this modern hotel is a gem This Is a spare tasteful modern hotel, the huge shower was actually in the bedroom, you could pull a curtain or watch television as you showered. very tastefully done in earth tones and bold prints. the staff is most helpful, they have a wine happy hour with surprisingly nice wines. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool and I saw a number of pets and children so it is obviously friendly to both. wifi in rooms, television but no premium channels. the Kimpton hotels are very upscale and quite nice. importantly the rooms were quiet.

Room Tip: some rooms overlook the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
You took the words right out of my mouth. Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The staff at the Lumen are friendly and responsive. The rooms are nice, and have an interesting layout, but there is a bit a noise depending on your location. My room was very close to the conference rooms and it was noisy starting at 6:30am. Room service didn't answer the phone or respond during one of the days i was there. The food at the restaurant is very good. I love the location if you are doing busines in Highland Park or Dallas. Overall, good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Mostly good experience? Well please come back and lets make sure we give you a Great Experience. Thank you for taking time to let others know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 6101 Hillcrest Avenue, Dallas, TX 75205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#25 Family Hotel in Dallas
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#35 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lumen, a Kimpton Hotel, brilliantly illuminates your stay in Dallas. Ideally situated across from SMU campus and adjacent to the swanky Social bistro, its chic retro style provides modern comfort that feels fresh and inviting. Located in the affluent Park Cities neighborhood, our luxury boutique hotel is near exceptional shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is also close to the Dallas World Aquarium, Meyerson Symphony Center, Dallas Art Museum and the American Airlines Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lumen Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.