We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Convienant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6101 Hillcrest Avenue, Dallas, TX 75205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Package
Ranked #26 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean and Convienant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Directly across the street from SMU. If you get a room facing the campus, it can get a little loud. Room was very clean and hotel staff were terrific. Hotel is valet parking only and parking is $13 a night. Its in a very safe location. My room was well appointed and very clean. However, housekeeping did not inventory the mini-bar before I checked in, so upon check out, I got charged for a bunch of stuff that wasn't mine. But the clerk was very friendly and took all of the charges off. The doors shut super loud and the walls are thin. Room service menu was okay, and service was really fast. I guess they have older mattresses, because the bed was lumpy.

My friend slept on the pull out bed and there were hairs from a specific bodily location, and they weren't hers....kinda gross.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. But sorry to hear about the lumpy mattress and the other issues your guest had. I have spoken will all staff members involved and our linen company as well. But so glad you enjoyed room service and that it was fast. I love FAST FOOD!!!!
We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    93
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
59
66
37
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The lobby area is beautiful and elegant. We had a quick and easy check-in and the staff was very friendly. The rooms are spacious and tasteful. We got a fantastic and huge shower stall. The free wine happy hour is lovely. Although we miss it on the second day of our stay, the staff at the reception insisted to serve us a glass of wine from free after the happy hour was over. The hotel restaurant is also well decorated and the food is good. Although it's mostly comfort food, it was very tasty. I particularly recommend the meat loaf and the banana pudding. The internet connection was good and free. The parking valets were very sweet and efficient but the parking daily rates were a bit expensive. It should have been free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Now this is the type of review I like. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! Please come back soon! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First of all - I normally really enjoy my Kimpton experiences but the Lumen broke my streak. I was staying in Dallas for 5 nights at the Lumen for work. The lobby is cool and I was feeling good about it until I got to my room. The room itself was fine but I tried to use my cell phone and no service for Verizon. I went down to the front desk and they informed me that Verizon has basically no service in the old building which is where I am staying. I asked if I could switch buildings since I was there for work (using my cell phone constantly) and there for five nights. There were no rooms available in the other buildings. Needless to say - it was very annoying to have to go to the lobby any time I needed to make a call.

I get up at 5:30am the first morning to get to a meeting on time and turn on the shower. There is some sort of red stuff next to the drain that appears to be blood and there are a few tiles missing on the ground where there is now mold growing. I had to be in my car by 6am so straddled the shower drain and took a VERY quick shower. I let the front desk know as I left and they said they would have the housekeeper deep clean my shower. I did get a message in my room when I got back that evening. The red stuff was just a stain not blood. Where I was relieved - I thought it odd that they were fine with just leaving it there. Couldn't they use bleach and clean it or but white caulk over it?

These two issues really overshadowed any positive experiences I had and I will not be staying again at the Lumen. They obviously focused more on the public spaces than they did on the rooms.

Room Tip: if you have to stay here - make sure you ask for the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your concerns you had during your stay. I have addressed this with our housekeeping team about the drain. We dont use bleach because it is so harsh for other guest but we have found a new product that we LOVE and it is taking care of the hard water staines around the drain. I hope that when you come back you will give us anohter try so we can show you we can give you A GREAT Kimpton experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
197 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just across from the SMU campus, this modern hotel is a gem This Is a spare tasteful modern hotel, the huge shower was actually in the bedroom, you could pull a curtain or watch television as you showered. very tastefully done in earth tones and bold prints. the staff is most helpful, they have a wine happy hour with surprisingly nice wines. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool and I saw a number of pets and children so it is obviously friendly to both. wifi in rooms, television but no premium channels. the Kimpton hotels are very upscale and quite nice. importantly the rooms were quiet.

Room Tip: some rooms overlook the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
You took the words right out of my mouth. Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The staff at the Lumen are friendly and responsive. The rooms are nice, and have an interesting layout, but there is a bit a noise depending on your location. My room was very close to the conference rooms and it was noisy starting at 6:30am. Room service didn't answer the phone or respond during one of the days i was there. The food at the restaurant is very good. I love the location if you are doing busines in Highland Park or Dallas. Overall, good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Mostly good experience? Well please come back and lets make sure we give you a Great Experience. Thank you for taking time to let others know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although conveniently located in mid-Dallas (across the street from SMU), this hotel is amazingly quiet. Excellent shopping and dining is available within walking distance. Our room was spacious, comfortable and nicely appointed. The staff, especially the valet staff, was friendly and helpful. The front desk knew us by name and preferences. We received our usual New York Times delivered to the door. Complimentary wine was served in the lobby in the evening. We like to stay at Kimpton properties when we travel, and this one met all of our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
This is what makes my day! Thank you and we cant wait to see you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at this amazing luxury hotel for out visit to Six Flags over Texas and we enjoyed it very much. The valet service at the entrance was very responsive to every request we made of them, especially after we had to ask them repeatedly to return to the car after it was parked because of the items my Wife couldn't remember to bring to the room before we handed it over. The front desk is very knowledgeable about the area and they have plenty of suggestions of what to do with the family or your significant other around Dallas. The room itself was much better than I had expected from the personal pictures that are on various websites. Being so close to Southern Methodist University brings much of the college crowd and scene to the area, if you like that type of atmosphere. There are hotels closer to Six Flags if that is your destination in Dallas, but the Hotel Lumen being 10 - 15 minutes away will not deter us from returning. This place will be on the top of the list next time we need a place to stay when we make it back to Dallas in the future. Being a pet friendly place is a plus and next time we may bring our little girl Skky to say with us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I am so thrilled you had a great time visiting Dallas and Six Flags. And your reivew for us is better than any theme park ride!!!! And make sure Skky comes next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
The Highland Dallas
#24 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Hilton Dallas Park Cities
#28 of 192 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#4 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 6101 Hillcrest Avenue, Dallas, TX 75205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#20 Family Hotel in Dallas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#38 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lumen, a Kimpton Hotel, brilliantly illuminates your stay in Dallas. Ideally situated across from SMU campus and adjacent to the swanky Social bistro, its chic retro style provides modern comfort that feels fresh and inviting. Located in the affluent Park Cities neighborhood, our luxury boutique hotel is near exceptional shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is also close to the Dallas World Aquarium, Meyerson Symphony Center, Dallas Art Museum and the American Airlines Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lumen Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.