We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mostly good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6101 Hillcrest Avenue, Dallas, TX 75205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Your Next Stay
Ranked #25 of 187 hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersGold level
denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“mostly good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The staff at the Lumen are friendly and responsive. The rooms are nice, and have an interesting layout, but there is a bit a noise depending on your location. My room was very close to the conference rooms and it was noisy starting at 6:30am. Room service didn't answer the phone or respond during one of the days i was there. The food at the restaurant is very good. I love the location if you are doing busines in Highland Park or Dallas. Overall, good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Mostly good experience? Well please come back and lets make sure we give you a Great Experience. Thank you for taking time to let others know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    70
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
39
46
34
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, AR
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although conveniently located in mid-Dallas (across the street from SMU), this hotel is amazingly quiet. Excellent shopping and dining is available within walking distance. Our room was spacious, comfortable and nicely appointed. The staff, especially the valet staff, was friendly and helpful. The front desk knew us by name and preferences. We received our usual New York Times delivered to the door. Complimentary wine was served in the lobby in the evening. We like to stay at Kimpton properties when we travel, and this one met all of our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
This is what makes my day! Thank you and we cant wait to see you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at this amazing luxury hotel for out visit to Six Flags over Texas and we enjoyed it very much. The valet service at the entrance was very responsive to every request we made of them, especially after we had to ask them repeatedly to return to the car after it was parked because of the items my Wife couldn't remember to bring to the room before we handed it over. The front desk is very knowledgeable about the area and they have plenty of suggestions of what to do with the family or your significant other around Dallas. The room itself was much better than I had expected from the personal pictures that are on various websites. Being so close to Southern Methodist University brings much of the college crowd and scene to the area, if you like that type of atmosphere. There are hotels closer to Six Flags if that is your destination in Dallas, but the Hotel Lumen being 10 - 15 minutes away will not deter us from returning. This place will be on the top of the list next time we need a place to stay when we make it back to Dallas in the future. Being a pet friendly place is a plus and next time we may bring our little girl Skky to say with us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I am so thrilled you had a great time visiting Dallas and Six Flags. And your reivew for us is better than any theme park ride!!!! And make sure Skky comes next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My son have stayed at the Hotel Lumen twice now while visiting SMU. It is right across the street from campus, so if you are visiting the school you can't be in a more convenient location.

The staff at the front desk are always so nice. They have gone above and beyond to help us out. One time they offered us tickets for a SMU football game! Another time the poor front desk person was out on the sidewalk trying to flag down a cab that kept cluelessly driving by the hotel, unable to find the hotel for some unknown reason after she spent 10 minutes on the phone with him trying to help him. The gentlemen at the front are always hustling to get the door open for you and greeting you with a smile.

We also love the feel of the hotel-modern and clean. The rooms are comfortable and also very clean.

On our first visit we enjoyed the pool, the cute cabanas and the comfy lounges. I like the free wine and snack hour they have too.

The restaurant in the hotel I think is called the Front Room. It has been very busy at night both times we were there. The food I have ordered has been only okay, but my some loved his fried chicken. The bar area was lively and has a fun vibe.

If my son ends up attending SMU, I will be a frequent visitor here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are so glad you took time to talk about your stay. It is great having our SMU Parents with us and I hope he decieded on SMU. GO MUSTANGS!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Lumen numerous times for business in the Dallas area. The front desk folks always greet me by name and ask if I will be needing a ride to my office via shuttle. Brandon(the shuttle driver, most of the time) has to be one of the most knowledgeable Kimpton employees I have ever met. And being from the DC area, I have met a lot! The food at the restaurant is good, but the speed of service for breakfast could be improved. I had an issue one morning, but it was very quickly and professionally handled by the restaurant GM.

The rooms are perfect for working with plenty of desk space and free internet with in touch member sign up. Internet speed was good with no outages during my stay.

Beer and wine happy hour was a welcomed treat after arriving from the office!

Will be staying here many more times and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We love having you and thank you for sending out an amazing review. You made my day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a nice hotel considering it is a remodeled Ramada. Make sure you get a room with a window. Service is great. Super clean, nice linens,nice bathrooms. Staff is very friendly and full of info. I have no complaints about my stay here. Price was appropriate considering the area. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We look forward to having you back. I know you stayed in February. But come back soon. The weather is getting nice for some POOL TIME!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

While visiting SMU we landed at the Hotel Lumen and all agreed this is a great hotel. Southern charm abounded from every employee.. from the car valet to front desk to housekeeping. It's a modern, sleek styled hotel, more on the simple side than anything else, but doesn't feel skimpy with its decor. The bathroom is spacious and all white. There is a nice sized glassed in square shower with a large overhead "rain shower" nozzle above. The sink is very large, enough space for two to use at once. Beds are quite comfortable with plenty of pillows. Writing desk is perfectly adequate and closet/drawer space was plentiful. As with most hotels, there were snacks and drinks for purchase, though the prices are always too high for our taste. But the price for the room was terrific, considering the style, comfort and Kimpton brand name association. A really nice touch was the late afternoon complimentary wine served in the lobby. There is a sunken, rectangular plush area that many guests seemed to take advantage of where the wine is served. Nice way to pass some time. Valet parking was $13 overnight, with unlimited in-out privileges. There is a good restaurant adjacent to the lobby. We had room service breakfast delivered from there one morning. The yogurt parfait was delicious and the oatmeal was excellent with marcona almonds, blackberries and brown sugar. The restaurant feels like an upscale coffee shop, but the food is certainly a step above that category. Take the time to go to the rooftop and sit in one of the deck lounge areas for a nice view of the surrounding area. This is a terrific find. I highly recommend it if you are in the Highland Park or University Park area of Dallas. Can't be beat for visiting SMU and looking for walking access to restaurants, shopping and school-related supplies purchases.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Hillcrest Avenue have a view of SMU's campus, otherwise views of commercial di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Lumen Kimpton
Hotel Lumen
Address: 6101 Hillcrest Avenue, Dallas, TX 75205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dallas
#29 Family Hotel in Dallas
#36 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lumen, a Kimpton Hotel, brilliantly illuminates your stay in Dallas. Ideally situated across from SMU campus and adjacent to the swanky Social bistro, its chic retro style provides modern comfort that feels fresh and inviting. Located in the affluent Park Cities neighborhood, our luxury boutique hotel is near exceptional shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is also close to the Dallas World Aquarium, Meyerson Symphony Center, Dallas Art Museum and the American Airlines Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.