We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6101 Hillcrest Avenue, Dallas, TX 75205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Package
Ranked #27 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My son have stayed at the Hotel Lumen twice now while visiting SMU. It is right across the street from campus, so if you are visiting the school you can't be in a more convenient location.

The staff at the front desk are always so nice. They have gone above and beyond to help us out. One time they offered us tickets for a SMU football game! Another time the poor front desk person was out on the sidewalk trying to flag down a cab that kept cluelessly driving by the hotel, unable to find the hotel for some unknown reason after she spent 10 minutes on the phone with him trying to help him. The gentlemen at the front are always hustling to get the door open for you and greeting you with a smile.

We also love the feel of the hotel-modern and clean. The rooms are comfortable and also very clean.

On our first visit we enjoyed the pool, the cute cabanas and the comfy lounges. I like the free wine and snack hour they have too.

The restaurant in the hotel I think is called the Front Room. It has been very busy at night both times we were there. The food I have ordered has been only okay, but my some loved his fried chicken. The bar area was lively and has a fun vibe.

If my son ends up attending SMU, I will be a frequent visitor here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are so glad you took time to talk about your stay. It is great having our SMU Parents with us and I hope he decieded on SMU. GO MUSTANGS!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    92
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
59
66
37
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Lumen numerous times for business in the Dallas area. The front desk folks always greet me by name and ask if I will be needing a ride to my office via shuttle. Brandon(the shuttle driver, most of the time) has to be one of the most knowledgeable Kimpton employees I have ever met. And being from the DC area, I have met a lot! The food at the restaurant is good, but the speed of service for breakfast could be improved. I had an issue one morning, but it was very quickly and professionally handled by the restaurant GM.

The rooms are perfect for working with plenty of desk space and free internet with in touch member sign up. Internet speed was good with no outages during my stay.

Beer and wine happy hour was a welcomed treat after arriving from the office!

Will be staying here many more times and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We love having you and thank you for sending out an amazing review. You made my day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel considering it is a remodeled Ramada. Make sure you get a room with a window. Service is great. Super clean, nice linens,nice bathrooms. Staff is very friendly and full of info. I have no complaints about my stay here. Price was appropriate considering the area. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssistantGM, General Manager at Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We look forward to having you back. I know you stayed in February. But come back soon. The weather is getting nice for some POOL TIME!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

While visiting SMU we landed at the Hotel Lumen and all agreed this is a great hotel. Southern charm abounded from every employee.. from the car valet to front desk to housekeeping. It's a modern, sleek styled hotel, more on the simple side than anything else, but doesn't feel skimpy with its decor. The bathroom is spacious and all white. There is a nice sized glassed in square shower with a large overhead "rain shower" nozzle above. The sink is very large, enough space for two to use at once. Beds are quite comfortable with plenty of pillows. Writing desk is perfectly adequate and closet/drawer space was plentiful. As with most hotels, there were snacks and drinks for purchase, though the prices are always too high for our taste. But the price for the room was terrific, considering the style, comfort and Kimpton brand name association. A really nice touch was the late afternoon complimentary wine served in the lobby. There is a sunken, rectangular plush area that many guests seemed to take advantage of where the wine is served. Nice way to pass some time. Valet parking was $13 overnight, with unlimited in-out privileges. There is a good restaurant adjacent to the lobby. We had room service breakfast delivered from there one morning. The yogurt parfait was delicious and the oatmeal was excellent with marcona almonds, blackberries and brown sugar. The restaurant feels like an upscale coffee shop, but the food is certainly a step above that category. Take the time to go to the rooftop and sit in one of the deck lounge areas for a nice view of the surrounding area. This is a terrific find. I highly recommend it if you are in the Highland Park or University Park area of Dallas. Can't be beat for visiting SMU and looking for walking access to restaurants, shopping and school-related supplies purchases.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Hillcrest Avenue have a view of SMU's campus, otherwise views of commercial di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Really is my kind of hotel - for one main reason they have really good beds, and that is rare, big and comfortable. Aside from that the location is in a nice & quiet part of Dallas, staff are really friendly, there is a heated pool, I had the gym room to myself, and the restaurant is great. Good value too.
Nothing more I could want.
Plus if you ask nicely they will drive you around in their SUV, up to a 3 mile radius for free - that's great service!

Room Tip: Up high and at the back for quiet and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman,OK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

What a differences aesthetically. The renovations look amazing. Everything is crisp, clean and well appointed. I hate to have to do this because everything else was so great, but I have a pretty big complaint. The room I stayed in was at the rear of the hotel. I could hear people using the dumpster behind the hotel for bottles and other loud objects as well as the dumpster lid was closing loudly. I could also hear people next door and in the hall. They have GOT to work on soundproofing. Everything else with this property is incredible. I'm going to stay here again but I will request a room toward the front of the hotel. I wish I could give it 3.5 stars. It would have been 4.5 if it weren't for all of the noise. Great property, loud rooms in the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have been won over by Kimpton by staying at The Lumen. The staff was so attentive and welcoming from my first phone call to book a room with Rachel to helping me place my luggage in my car on the way out. The rooms were wonderful, and the bed was fantastic. I am writing this review almost in protest because I would like to keep this hotel to myself and be sure I can always get a room, but they should be praised for how wonderfully run this hotel truly is. Thank you everyone for your hospitality. I was so wooed by this hotel I have written corporate to praise them.

Room Tip: Book your room directly through the hotel instead of expedia or other travel sites. They will match...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
The Highland Dallas
#21 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Hilton Dallas Park Cities
#30 of 192 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#4 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 6101 Hillcrest Avenue, Dallas, TX 75205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#19 Family Hotel in Dallas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#40 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lumen, a Kimpton Hotel, brilliantly illuminates your stay in Dallas. Ideally situated across from SMU campus and adjacent to the swanky Social bistro, its chic retro style provides modern comfort that feels fresh and inviting. Located in the affluent Park Cities neighborhood, our luxury boutique hotel is near exceptional shops, restaurants and museums. The hotel is also close to the Dallas World Aquarium, Meyerson Symphony Center, Dallas Art Museum and the American Airlines Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lumen Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lumen - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.