We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Food but also lots of carbs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
15225 Montfort Dr., Dallas, TX 75248-6457
972-385-7160
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #555 of 3,165 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
473 reviews 473 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Lots of Food but also lots of carbs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The salad bar was varied and fresh. There were also soups. I tried the creamy tomato, but it tasted sweet to me. Then I tried the turkey 3 bean chili which was much better. There are a variety of pastas & breads. I tried the whole grain, but it was hard & stale at 6:00 p.m. I also tried the sour dough, same thing. Also offered were cornbread, fricocca, and blueberry muffins. There was ice cream & brownies for dessert, neither of which I tried.

A server/bus person brought us some snicker doodle cookies. One of them had a hair baked in it. The manager came of and apologized.

Overall, it was o.k. But, at $10.49 I thought it was a bit pricey if you only ate the soup and salad. It is worth the money if you really pig out and eat all the carb option. There is a "happy hour" between 2:00 and 3:00 p.m. when the price is $6.99. Also, they offer a senior discount of 10% and various coupons are available online.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impecable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a treat to go to a buffet salad bar and find all food containers neat and clean with no messy food spills. Buffet customers usually can be very sloppy. It's great to find a restaurant that constantly polices all food areas to keep everything appealing and sanitary. Deserts are unimaginative, but there is ample variety in all categories including the five soups

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“There are better salad bars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My business colleagues and I went to Sweet Tomatoes today at lunch. It is fairly crowded.
The options are quite typical ( personally I think Jason's Deli variety is better ). The pre-made salads at the front of the line are very good. No new dinner plate if you want to go back.
Quite a few pasta options. The 5 soups are quite average. The dessert options are meager.

Complaints: No napkins at the table, you have to go back to checkout if you forget to get them.
They are quite flimsy so grab a couple.
Also quite a variety of bread but where is the butter/margarine?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Another great Sweet Tomatoes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you're familiar with Sweet Tomatoes, your experience at this location will be predictably great. The restaurant is a bit small, but the food is excellent and the staff is incredible. If you're looking for a myriad of fresh salads, a nice selection of soups, great pasta dishes, breads, and desserts, then stop by this Sweet Tomatoes and you won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great salad bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I really love the salad bar and their variety of soups. I like their cookies and muffins too. Good place to go for vegetarians, I'm not, but still I love to go there for a change.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Tomatoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.