We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository
411 Elm Street, Dallas, TX 75202
214-747-6660
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$16*
and up
Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza
Ranked #3 of 115 Attractions in Dallas
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the sixth floor of the Dallas County Administration Building (formerly the Texas School Book Depository) from which Oswald fired those infamous shots, this historic exhibition chronicles the life, times, assassination and legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Online ticketing is now available through our website.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Thanks so much for being so thoughtful in your exhibits in this museum. As a history teacher I was grateful on how accessible this museum was and would love to bring students here. Great mix of videos, pictures and audio. Very well though out, if wanted to hear more about a certain event there was always more on the audio tour. I am grateful I came. You realize how close the shooter or shooters were to JFK. As well so many interesting facts and perspectives about that day. Thank you very much, this made my trip to Dallas.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,801
    734
    158
    43
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Very impressed with the museum. They did a very good job of making you feel like you took a step back in time. I did not realize how close very close together the area is.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewlett, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very moving experience .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

It was a great walk through time. We used the handset and got a great historical lesson. The exhibit was well done and made you feel as though you were at the scene of the crime. The upper level was closed but i would highly recommend this stop for all ages.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“chilling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I am not a history buff and I thought I would be bored but I must say that it was quite facinating. The tour is an audio tour and it gives you background into Kennedy's life and the state of the nation during the 1960's. It was chilling to look out the window and to imagine what Lee Harvey Oswald saw on the day of the shooting. Well worth the trip!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gives a visual to the history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

was very interesting. 6 year old was interested for only a short period of time so wouldn't recommend for young kids but great for the teen crowd and older.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.