We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded but worth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository

The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository
411 Elm Street, Dallas, TX 75202
214-747-6660
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$16*
and up
Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza
Ranked #3 of 115 Attractions in Dallas
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the sixth floor of the Dallas County Administration Building (formerly the Texas School Book Depository) from which Oswald fired those infamous shots, this historic exhibition chronicles the life, times, assassination and legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Online ticketing is now available through our website.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Crowded but worth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was so crowded that we just got a time slot to go there. Inside was a huge line and they lead you from point to point with your own audio guide. I left the line and moved the time line back and forth just to escape from the crowd. But you really can do that and go your own pace. Especially if you are not interested in every detail of the history. You are able to choose your own path to discover the story. There are no photograph allowed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,807
    737
    159
    43
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wasn't too big and not too small...just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Ordered out tickets on-line before going. BEST DECISION EVER! Lines are horrible and with an on-line ticket you just move to the front of the line. Teen daughter is actually is a bit of a history buff and she LOVED it! They do present some of the conspiracy theories and that makes it a bit more interesting. Not sure if a young person would like it because it's a walking tour with headsets and I can see them getting fidgety having to just walk around with a narrator talking the whole time about pics on the wall. In fact, I found it distracting and took them off and I was able to really look at the displays in more detail. Biggest bummer is NO PHOTOGRAPHY at all. And they have cameras and guards all over the place. I'm not sure what the big deal is. Maybe it clogs up the system if people are taking pics and not moving thru the displays.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonvile, FL
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A Must See in Dallas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I went to this museum expecting it to take about an hour. It was closer to two hours and the audio tour and displays were very interesting. I am glad I went and would highly recommend it to everyone. The information and audio clips made it almost feel as if you were back at that time period. Such a sad time for the nation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This museum was very interesting. They give you earphones and an informational excerpt at each exhibit. It is mostly made of of pictures and some artifacts. It was a little pricey. I wouldn't take young children to this museum. If you do intend to take your kids, they would enjoy it better if a brief history lesson was given to them prior to attending. I was strolling around for about 2 hrs. I went back and revisited some of the exhibits before leaving. It is still hard to believe that this was the exact place where the assassination took place and how accurate he was. Good place to visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt,Ks
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I and our 8 year old son was able to stop in Dallas and go thur the Museum and the Book Depository in June of this year. Was really suprised that our son of 8 enjoyed it. The wife and myself aslo enjoyed it but have so many more question now.Visit and make your own opinoin.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.