We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of information” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository

The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository
411 Elm Street, Dallas, TX 75202
214-747-6660
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$16*
and up
Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza
Ranked #3 of 115 Attractions in Dallas
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the sixth floor of the Dallas County Administration Building (formerly the Texas School Book Depository) from which Oswald fired those infamous shots, this historic exhibition chronicles the life, times, assassination and legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Online ticketing is now available through our website.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lots of information”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The best part of the tour was to be able to look out of the six floor at the road below. It is amazing to stand where history was made.

IMPORTANT: You will not be able to look out the exact window that the shot was taken. They blocked that section off with glass panels. You can look out of the next window over (which is almost as good).

The day we went was difficult because of the volume of people. They give you an audio tour headset, but they talk forever at each station. When people are listening and reading, it goes VERY slow.

There is two floors 6th and 7th. The 6th floor is full but the 7th floor is practically empty.

if you are a photo nut like me, be aware that you will not be allowed to take any photos inside the building. I was dying to take a picture from the window, but nope. The best place that i found to take a picture is from grassy area between the two street. Stand your subject on the first X and then shoot up toward the 6th floor window.. great shot.. just time it so that your subject does not get ran over. The red lights dont last very long lol.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,813
    738
    159
    43
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So emotional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Really interesting, spend a good 2-3 hours in here there is so much to see. Very reasonable price for an educational and unbiased account on a key event in US history.Must visit when in Dallas

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Went here last year and was impressed with the presentation. The amount of history reviewed is amazing - even kept teenagers focused

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Reliving history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This is good place to spend sometime in and remember history. The tour and preservation of the actual building interesting!! My only issue is the neighborhood is under construction and under keep. In the middle of the day I felt somewhat unsafe. I would suggest going with another person or in a group. Other than this issue it was very very interesting part of history.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
301 attraction reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Not Even the Warren Commision Knows the Answer !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have a vivid memory as a 6yr old of the news flash announcing the death of JFK ! Like the Beatles arriving , the Moon Landing , 9/11 , etc , some things resonate and you never forget the first impression ! So I really looked forward to visiting the site and apart from some clowns around the Knoll (a Koala in Dallas ?) it was a very rewarding experience. We did the Audio tour and at $16 a head thought it was good value. The exhibits and videos are all well set up and it is easY to follow the time lines. On a Sunday it was pretty crowded but everyone respected others and it was a quite moving experience. For a large group it was surreal as there was no noise or pushing or rudeness , everyone felt the gravity of the moment. You can wander around the grounds and actually stand on the roadway where the terrible deed was done. A highlight is you actually get to view froM the snipers point of aim. Forget all the conspiracy theories , I don't think we will ever know the full story but this Museum is a handy reminder and presents the known facts in an open display, well recommended in Dallas TX !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sixth Floor Museum/Texas School Book Depository, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.