We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variety of Offerings and Hectic Atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of eatZi's Market & Bakery

eatZi's Market & Bakery
3403 Oak Lawn Ave, Dallas, TX 75219-4215
214-520-2223
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 3,105 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Variety of Offerings and Hectic Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This place need more space. I arrived 11-ish to avoid lunch crowd. I found a parking spot (on the parking lot) but the inside was already quite busy. It reminded me of the Reading Terminal Market in Philadelphia (a scale down version…a lot. Also, Eatzi’s is not a conglomeration of merchants so you can pay for everything at the central cashier. From their website, I was expecting a brighter and airy market place but it was not. Often times I was in somebody’s way when I tried to decide what to buy. No leisurely browsing; just pick up pre-packaged items and head to the cashier or make a line to order if what you want is not packaged. Judging from the labeling, it looks like they don’t make their own Sushi. I think you will easily find the same packaged Sushi at any other grocery store in town.
I was overwhelmed by the hectic atmosphere of the market (is it that the Dallas norm?) and by the variety of offerings it carries and ended up exiting the store without buying anything.
Food looked great so maybe I will try sometime when I have more zeal and zest.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    65
    16
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Selections Galore and Fresh Ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is really a market, not a restaurant, although there are tables outside for eating or drinking.
Every city could benefit from a place like this. It's like your own personal catering hall in your neighborhood.
Specials are cooked daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and regular stations exist serving bakery items, salads, sandwiches, and grocery to go items. Beer and wine, cheeses and other specialty items are available as well.
The service is amazing. Everyone is so friendly and willing to help. They take their jobs seriously and professionally.
What a concept. Wish we had one in my home town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Dallas staple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Nutritional, tasty, food that is ready to go for take-out. A little pricey, but you get what you pay for. Also beer, wine available for take out.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One word.... YUM!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This place is a sensory overboard ! Great food, awesome fast and friendly service and the food and selection is amazing! Is my second time here and I'm sure when I come back to Dallas I'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a superb grocery/deli with a stunning array of wines, cheeses and prepared foods to grab and go. The sandwich bar is my all time favorite with a large selection of fresh baked breads, a grand array of meats and cheeses and really fresh veggies to top it all off. The whole grain mustard will bring tears to your eyes, but it is SOOOO good!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed eatZi's Market & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to eatZi's Market & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage eatZi's Market & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.