We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hodie's BBQ

Hodie's BBQ
701 S Highway 87, Dalhart, TX 79022
806-244-6773
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 restaurants in Dalhart
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Dallas Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

After driving nonstop all day, I was starving to death and this place hit the spot. Noticed a lot of locals, nice families with well mannered kids, the place was jumping. Ample selection, generous servings and good service. Nice down home place, nothing fancy, just great food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    11
    11
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Very good food. Our family had brisket, ribs, chicken.... Each served with beans, coleslaw, and toast. Small town cafe atmosphere, friendly service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tons of food for the $!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here because it was still crowded at 1 pm on a Friday. We were not disappointed. The food was really good, & at about $9 a plate, there was enough food for lunch & dinner that day. Fries & onion rings were average, but there was enough great meat that you don't need sides!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Out-of-Towner's taken care of”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Colorado because we were hungry and the parking lot was full (usually a good sign). Seated ourselves quickly and got in our drink order. The flies are unrelenting and the service is slow, but we were treated very well. We got a kids order of chicken strips, chopped BBQ beef sandwich, and the chicken sandwich. All was very tasty. I really enjoyed the chopped beef sandwich with the potatoes. A basket with containers of chopped onions and sliced jalapenos was available as well. The prices are average, the tables were kept full of patrons, and if we every go through Dalhart again, we would make the same stop for a good lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Middle of the road Texas BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The place was Packed for lunch. The service was very good. We were lucky to get a table right away. Typical Texas barbecue is long on smoke and short on sauce. And hodies is no exception. I've had barbecue from all over the US And in just about every variety possible. I called this barbecue middle-of-the-road for Texas barbecue. You will be disappointed if you like lots of sauce.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hodie's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Hodie's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodie's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.