We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Dalhart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Dalhart to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dalhart
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Liberal Street, Dalhart, TX 79022 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Dalhart
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This La Quinta was very nice. Clean, quiet and comfortable. I used my rewards to stay at this one which made the cost very low. We were driving home from Arizona and it was a pleasure to stay here after a long day of driving. Thanks La Quinta.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
35
14
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is a standard older hotel, but they've tried to make upgrades. Let's call it "putting lipstick on a pig".
The staff gave the obligatory hello and goodbye, but we needed nothing else during our stay and I therefore can't evaluate them further.
I was surprised to see the earplugs on the night stand, but the reason became apparent at about midnight. LOUD train.
If we are ever forced to stay in Dalhart again, I can honestly say I would not look forward to staying at this hotel. That said, the other options didn't appear any more promising. Best bet: bypass Dalhart

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Dalhart, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Michael H,

Thank you for your feedback of our property. I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent visit at our hotel due to the noise levels experienced. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you and I do apologize and regret this impacted your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dalhart hotels

Denison, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Super, super nice hotel. Everything clean, very nice room. A great breakfast, everything imaginable for breakfast. We hesitated about staying in Dalhart because of all the train noise reported, but we didn't hear any noise. However, we were in the south end of the hotel, the north end may have had more train noise. If ever passing thru Dalhart again, we will definitely stay at this hotel. And the warm cookies (choice of 3 kinds) in the lobby when checking in was a plus for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Now I don't say that lightly... We are Gold members and stay at IHE all the time. Why do I say this? I have never been in a hotel room with a DOOR STOP. What a simple thing to make our lives easier trying to get the luggage cart in the room. How many times have you banged the door and made so much noise trying to get in that you woke your neighbor! Another nice touch was a ceiling fan. We have them in our homes... why not in the rooms? Very nice property, nice touches. We were there during Christmas break and during bad weather. The people at the desk were very concerned about our safety during travels. Kudos to you all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was on a trip where I had no motel reservations, just trying to cover ground and see where things ended each day. Well I lucked out with my chance stop in Dalhart Texas! This place is very new, very clean, and had a great and helpful staff on duty. Most readers will be familiar with a newer Holiday Inn Express, but Dalhart is what makes this one work! Its really on Highway 54, Southwest of Liberal Kansas, just through the OK panhandle. Highway 54 is an interesting drive, and if you get here make sure you read about the history of the area. Fascinating! I liked it so much I want to go back and show my wife the area since this was a solo drive for me. Guess I better end this before I go on too long, but for a great place to stay in a fascinating location, put this in your plans if you get a chance. Maybe alter things a bit if you can, because if you like "Americana" this is a don't miss!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We checked in at around midnight on our way back from Colorado Springs. The woman at the front desk was friendly and was able to take care of us very quickly.
A few seconds after entering our room a loud train horn sounded for a few minutes. It was very loud, but didn't last very long. They also provided ear plugs, so at least they are aware of the problem.
There was a strange problem with the radio, it seemed to be getting interference from our cell phones so every now and again it would start to buzz.
Breakfast was alright, there was a relatively large assortment of pastries to choose from. There was an employee restocking everything while we were there, so there was at least enough for all of the guests to eat.
As far as the rooms go, they were nice. Ours was very clean. We always check for bed bugs now because of a bad stay at a different hotel in the past, our room had no evidence of any sort of insect.
Overall, the staff was nice, upon checkout we told the woman at the front about the radio issue and she said they would look into it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Dalhart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Dalhart

Address: 801 Liberal Street, Dalhart, TX 79022 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Location: United States > Texas > Dalhart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Dalhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Dalhart 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop to rest and refresh with us in ,Dalhart, Texas, where we are located at the top panhandle of Texas, the gateway to ski resorts in the winter, and hiking in the summer. The La Quinta Inn & Suites, Dalhart, Texas, is conveniently located at the intersections of the three major highways, Highway 87, Highway 54, and Highway 385. Come stay with us annually for our large Xit Free BBQ and Rodeo in August. The La Quinta Inn & Suites, Dalhart, Texas, is 100% smoke free. Our guests receive a complimentary hot deluxe breakfast, including delicious Texas shape waffle. Come and enjoy our over-sized guest rooms. Every room includes a refrigerator, microwave oven, high speed Internet, wireless and hard wired, Watch your favorite show on HBO Enjoy a relaxing night in one of our Jacuzzi suites or lounge in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Workout in our fitness center. Elevator services and a guest laundry add to the convenience of your stay. Restaurants and a convenience shopping store are located nearby.The La Quinta Inn & Suites, Dalhart, Texas, we are pet friendly. If you are traveling through the top of Texas, you won t find a friendlier and more accommodating staff, at the La Quinta Inn & Suites, Dalhart, Texas, We ll make you feel like one of the family. See you soon! Cancellation policy is 24 hours prior to date of arrival; penalty room charge will incur. Smoking in room will incur a charge of $250.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Dalhart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dalhart Hotel Dalhart
Holiday Inn Dalhart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Dalhart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.