We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular - close enough to touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fingal Head Lighthouse

Fingal Head Lighthouse
Fingal Head, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular - close enough to touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I didn't realize there was such an amazing place so close to home. The fingal heads are similar to that in the UK. Amazing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay
1 review
“Tale of three lighthouses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

There is some confusion here. The photo of the Fingal Head lighthouse is not at Port Stephens but 100s of km away. TA should fix it.

Port Stephens has two lighthouses. One on the ocean at Point Stephens which is essentially on a island attached to the mainland by a dangerous sand spit, it is usually underwater and a difficult crossing. The public is advised not to cross. The Point Stephens lighthouse is traditional and automatically operating there are no public facilities there at all.

The second lighthouse at Port Stephens is called the Inner-light. This is a small hexagonal light room attached to a 1876 lighthouse keepers cottage on Nelson Head, this is a couple of kilometers inside the Port. It is a NSW Volunteer Marine Rescue base and includes a cafe, restored cottage, museum and gift shop. Everything is open to the public and admission is free. The views are spectacular and well worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice light lunch or brunch..gluten feee selection..been several times...staff always unfriendly though every time...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fast becoming our family favourite outing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A gorgeous place to visit...relaxed, peaceful and only a few minutes from the Gold Coast! My children all love it..the little bush walk, the lighthouse, the waves crashing on the cliffs, and we even saw dolphins playing! Great photography spot too. We love dreamtime beach on the south side...little rock pools and plenty of running space! The local cafe is exceptional, my sister who was visiting loved the food and coffee as did we and our children. Gorgeous little galley and so friendly. Slow down and enjoy this beautiful part of Northern NSW.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rainy Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have this place mixed up with some were else the maritime museum at nelson bay go visit this also they have a coffee shop

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fingal Head Lighthouse also viewed

Fingal Bay, Port Stephens

Been to Fingal Head Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fingal Head Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.