We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasted Money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gardens

Green Gardens
17333 Spring-Cypress Rd, Cypress, TX 77429
(281) 213-8873
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 197 Restaurants in Cypress
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Cypress, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wasted Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Been going here for the past 5 years. To go order was wrong after getting home and the food was just bland at best. Really couldn't call it Chinese. Called Mngr. He made excuses for the cook. Threw it out. Wasted $30! Last time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Nice selections on the menu with a good bargain on the lunch prices. Service was friendly and the food was excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Saw lots of positive reviews online, so I decided to give it a try the other night. Staff is very friendly, place is clean, and saw lots of traffic for a Sunday evening. I had the sweet and sour pork.....I think it was half the pig! Also tried the fried beef dumpling...very good also. You're gonna need a to go box for sure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We are new to the area and LOVE Asian food. We live in an area with about 6 Asian restaurants in just a small strip mall area, and tried one. Green Garden is farther from us, but had better ratings and appetizing photos here, so we were excited to try it.

The atmosphere was very nice. Nice decor, comfortable temperature, ample seating, and CLEAN. The greeter (I think it was the owner) and all the staff were very kind, friendly and helpful.

Crab rangoons were awesome, egg rolls were vegetarian (not sited as such on the menu), FULL of cabbage and VERY greasy. Bummer.

We ordered General Tso's Chicken, Orange Chicken and fried rice. Both of the entrees were very tasty, the General Tso's was delightful. The Orange Chicken was also good, but not as awesome. The fried rice was a major let down. It was basically just plain steamed brown rice. No "classic fried rice" offerings. No eggs, green onion, carrots, peas, nothing...I was bummed about that. Love me some fried rice.

The cost of our meal was very reasonable. Less than $35 for all I mentioned with water to drink.

Our experience was overall good, we will go back for the General Tso's (hubby's fave) but might try a few other things on the menu. If it weren't for the GREASY eggrolls (love an eggroll) and blah fried rice, this would have been outstanding for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not up to par”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our last visit was a major disappointment. We have eaten before at the Green Garden, and been very pleased with the food and the service. But after this visit, I don't expect to go back.

The waiter was at our side constantly wanting to take something away even while we were still eating. He even tried to take the plate away from my husband as he was spooning food into a take-home box!!! Worse yet, the food was disappointing. Portions were smaller. My shrimp fried rice was very skimpy on shrimp. And worst of all - no fortune cookie. That was the final straw. No fortune cookie = no more of our business. It is a very little thing, but something I look forward to at the end of the meal and apparently indicative of cost cutting measures. Shame on you for that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.