We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J. Macklin's Grill

J. Macklin's Grill
130 North Denton Tap Road, Suite 120, Coppell, TX 75019
972 393 0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 76 Restaurants in Coppell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Grand Prairie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This place is delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our family stopped by for dinner one night (it was our first visit here) and we were definitely NOT disappointed! I ordered the chicken & waffles and the crust on the chicken was heavenly and the waffles were simply fluffy and most delicious! My husband ordered the fish & chips and again it was super flaky and delicious as well! The only downside was that while the chocolate hand-pie was super yummy, it was quite small ($5) and ice cream scoop was an addt'l $1.50. Nonetheless, we shall find our way back here and next time would like to enjoy the "live" music on the patio!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best rest in Coppell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Consistently good food and service. Literally, everything on the menu is good. All of it! A few favs: Spinach Dip, Adult Mac and Cheese, Burgers, Club Sammie.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's my favorite neighborhood joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We go there often when it's a nice day to sit in the patio and on a dull day to be at the bar. Their black bean burger is my favorite burger. I've eaten black bean burgers from New York to Seattle but theirs is always my favorite. Service is always good and we've never get bored of our J Macklins ;)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I visited J Macklin's on a Friday evening. The restaurant was a little loud but the service and food were excellent. We were seated immediately which was a pleasant surprise. Overall, the customer service was above expectation.
My husband had a burger which he rated as one of the best burgers he has ever eaten. Based on the recommendation of our server, I had the grilled cheese that came with the tomato basil soup for dipping. It was probably the best grilled cheese I have ever tried. We also had the peach cobbler for desert. The crust on the cobbler was amazing. It was a great way to end an excellent meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
“always good salads!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I go to J Macklin´s often to have a salad. Their salads are always fresh and very tasty. The service in J Macklin´s is good and friendly and you really feel you want to come again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Macklin's Grill also viewed

 

Been to J. Macklin's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J. Macklin's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.