We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never seen a restaurant quite like this, unique experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Eight BBQ

Hard Eight BBQ
688 Freeport Parkway, Coppell, TX 75019
9724715462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Coppell
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Never seen a restaurant quite like this, unique experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

You stand in line and walk by the area where they cook all the meat. You tell them what meat you want and how much, they weigh it, then you head inside for side items. I had ribs, so tender the meat fell off the bones...no sauce needed. It was a nice day so we sat outside. Nice casual place to eat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    159
    52
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Porterhouse is AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We've searched high and low for great BBQ and Hard Eight is by far our favorite. For 2 years we ordered the same food, a pound of brisket, a slab of ribs and some sausage. Once while waiting in line, we heard someone recommend the steak. We tried it that night and it's become a staple in our order ever since. Best steak EVER! Make sure to rub it around in the seasonings. It's unbelievable!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fantastic BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I'm a native Texan and BBQ is something I grew up eating at least once a week, so I'm pretty particular about my BBQ. Hard Eight is fantastic!!! Can't go wrong with anything you get there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Texas BBQ with great variety of meats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great experience! Authentic clean atmosphere. Great variety of meats. Reasonable prices. Good sides- just wish they had more side options as various as their meats selection. Brisket and turkey were wonderful as were the beans. Definitely try this one!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, but you will smell smokey ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I ate here last night on the advice of my hotel when I requested Texas BBQ. The food was good, I really appreciate that they warn you not to order too much food because it seems easy to do. I had ribs and brisket, my sister had the same with sausage. Be careful in the line after you get your meat, the counter where the sides are is very cold and I think setting a tray on it would make your food cold, too. I tried the beans for a side and didn't care for them. It just tasted like plain pinto beans to me. The ribs didn't have a lot of meat on them, but were tasty. The brisket was good. My sister really liked the sausage. I did enjoy both BBQ sauces that were available, they said one was supposed to be hot, but I didn't think it was, and I usually like mine medium.
A word of warning: you will smell like smoke when you leave. This may not be a problem for most, but when you are traveling this smell can get into everything if you put those clothes in your suitcase.
Overall I would say it was a good experience. It wasn't that busy on a Thursday, we probably waited 20 min. Parking was ample, we parked behind the place and walked down a small ditch with a path to get in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Eight BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Hard Eight BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Eight BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.