We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mc Kenzie's Barbeque

Mc Kenzie's Barbeque
1501 N Frazier St, Conroe, TX 77301
936-539-4300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 174 Restaurants in Conroe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice large restaurant!Ribs were the best! The beans and corn on the cob were very good! Cobbler looked good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always reliable. Always good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Every business meeting needs to have at least one lunch catered by McKenzies. I've never had anything but great, dependable food and service. A little off the beaten path, North of downtown (Conroe). A local favorite.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Texas BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Decent price but great food and plenty of it. Fall off the bone tender ribs and sliced brisket are the best.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Barbecue is acceptable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

First time I'd been to McKenzie's. Texas is famous for its barbecue eateries, most of which are fair to acceptable, mainly because they use brisket which is only fair and smoke it only fairly well. This place has beef which is not very tender and, in my view, sliced too thickly. It should not be difficult to cook great brlsket, but few bother to do it. I also had sausage, which was
passable. Their pinto beans had a slightly off flavor but were OK. Cold potato salad was excellent. Plain white bread was OK
I had peach cobbler (apple and blackberry were also offered). The dough was not as good as my mother made, but overall the
cobbler was good. Compared to other BBQ places, this was at least good, because it was a bit better than most. They would
improve it just by cutting very thin brisket slices (more trouble and skill but worth it). Also, serve a better grade of beef, even if
you must increase price a little. Then McKenzie's would be excellent!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My first time to eat here. As you enter, it is a typical BBQ joint. You walk up to the counter to place your order, they will prepare whatever meat you like but then they had you your place and you finish serving yourself from a buffet line.
I ordered sliced beef, the flavor was good, but it was either smoked too long or the heat was too high. The meat was very dry. I had the corn on the cob, it was ok, the cob was rather small, and also the potato salad was a little bland. They do have regular and spicy bbq sauce both of which were good. The drinks are dispensed via a regular drink dispenser and they have a bakery next door. I cannot really rate the service since it is pretty much self serve, but I was please to see that they do employ several young ladies that have Down's Syndrome.
The price for lunch for two people was about $25 dollars.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mc Kenzie's Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Mc Kenzie's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mc Kenzie's Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.