We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sure beats the hamburger option when in a crunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luby's Cafeteria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Luby's Cafeteria
201 Longmire Road, Conroe, TX 77304
(936) 756-8099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 196 Restaurants in Conroe
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lake Conroe, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sure beats the hamburger option when in a crunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Always hot and fresh, I eat here at least once every couple of weeks. I love the multiple choices to make a fresh salad and great fish options. You can eat very healthy here as long as you can pass up the rolls and desserts on the way to check out! Sure beats the hamburger & taco option when in a hurry. Good Eats.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Not what they used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Years ago I went to a Luby's when they were a real cafeteria. You could load up your tray with any selection of entrees, sides, drinks and desserts for one price. Now you pick one entree at a fixed price and get 2 sides, a drink and a bread item; dessert is extra. I chose fried okra and found it to be fibrous and tasteless. My entree looked great but also lacked flavor. The facility is spacious, clean and well-lit, but it doesn't make up for the mediocre food quality. I wouldn't mind the prices having gone up if I didn't remember how much the food has declined.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I've been eating here 2 to 3 times a month for about 10 years and it's always been great. Prices are very reasonable and the food is always fresh and really good. This is probably the best place (in my opinion) where here in the Conroe area where you can still get a great complete meal (not a fast food meal) for under $10.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
1 review
“Good Food at Luby's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

They always have vegetables that are cooked just right, not overdone.

We go there about once a week. The selections are many and we love the LuAnn platter.

Would recommend Luby's to anyone who is hungry.



Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good place to grab lunch fairly quickly. You can get veggies and salad and very nice soup. The kitchen can be heavy on the salt in some dishes. Desserts are yummy, but I rarely have room.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luby's Cafeteria also viewed

 

Been to Luby's Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luby's Cafeteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.