We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you don't want to bring your children here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Neal's Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neal's Lodges
Save
You added Neal's Lodges to your Saves list
20970 Hwy 127, Concan, TX 78838   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Concan
Rockport, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“you don't want to bring your children here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

we stayed in one of the least expensive cabins and I can see why they are least. It was filthy. I had to clean the entire cabin. the mattresses were as old as the cabin, with the springs popping up into our backs all night.the bathroom shower stall stopped up each time with water full of who knows what.We went down to the river on Mon and it was beautiful, but come thurs It was bumper to bumper under-aged,foul mouthed drunks with their music screaming out from each cluster of partys. If all you want to do is drink,smoke,swear in front of childeren and go pass out on a bed that you won't even feel,then this is the place for you.But if you care about what your children see and hear I'd advise you take them somewhere else. It is obvious to this mother that Neals lodges is NOT a family place any more.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    24
    11
    12
    10
See reviews for
65
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We chose Neal's Lodges for it's location proximity to several good birding locations nearby (Garner SP, Lost Maples SP) beside the wonderful birding opportunities on the grounds itself. Our room was pretty basic but everything woorked so no complaints. The bed was fairly comfortable but not up to Holiday Inn or Marriott standards. Overall a good bargin and as they say in real estate Location, Location, Location!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

This was our second stay at Neal's Lodges. Last year we stayed at Neal's in a RV space, and were very happy with our stay. Since we rented the RV last year, and had more planning time this year, we reserved a cabin instead. The cost per night was less than renting the RV and camping spot. We reserved one of the smallest cabins (Cabin #4) and least expensive at $95 per night. Overall, the cabin location is great, and the property is very nice. My disappointment was with the overall quality of the accomodations vs. the price paid.

The cabin is very rustic to say the least. We are talking very basic, camping accomodations. The cabin offered two full size beds, table and chairs for 4 persons, refrigerator, stove/oven, microwave, coffee maker, tv w/basic cable, and bathroom with shower. Outside, there was a large concrete picnic table, and a fire ring. Beds were very old, and uncomfortable. A/C had trouble keeping the cabin cool during the daytime, mostly due extreme heat outside, and very drafty cabin. You can literally see thru the walls in some places. Saw lots of insects inside the cabin, and floor was filthy. No broom to sweep it out. Be prepared to bring what is needed to cook your meals. You will find only very basic kitchen supplies in the cabin (plates, cups, glasses, bowls, forks, spoons, butter knives and one or two small pots). We were also required to bring our own paper towels, bath towels, and sheets/blankets.

Overall size of cabin was about what I expected, however the furnishings and cleanliness definitely need to be updated. I did not expect a luxury resort, after all, it is camping. However, I did expect cleanliness, and not furniture and appliances from the 70's. The mattresses looked like they were extremely old and worn.

Neal's is still a great property and the location is terrific. The people are friendly, and the restaurant offers good food at reasonable prices. If I choose to stay there again, I will definitely not be renting a cabin again. I will choose to stay in one of the RV spaces again. Because of the location, and serenity of the property, I realize that people will pay the $95 per night for these cabins, but I won't. I have stayed in much nicer accomodations, for much less money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

My husband and I brought our grown daughters and their boyfriends here this past week . We had taken the girls when they were younger for several years and were excited to revisit an old family favorite. There were some changes but pretty much for the better. First, one needs to know that families have been coming to Neal's since the 1920's for the best swimming hole in Texas. Neals has the prime spot on the Frio River . The water is cool, clean and clear. Neal's has a shuttle service for tubing, hayrides, a fabulous cafe(unbelievable breakfasts, fried chicken, chicken fried steak and more). One can rent cabins, an RV site or camping site. Our cabin had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms as well as a fairly well equipped kitchen. It had air-conditioning, cable TV and a wonderful covered patio with a very nice smoker/BBQ. If you hasn't been there in awhile , you need to know that there is no more horseback riding ( gone for about 9 years) and they have improved the swimming hole by clearing out the trees on the far bank and putting in gravel so there is more lounging space as well as a sand volleyball pit. Also, the cafe was enlarged and (yea!!) air-conditioned. My daughters were disappointed that were no more Choco Tacos in the ice cream case and the mattresses weren't the best we slept on. On the whole, this is even better than we remembered it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooner State
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed at Neal's Lodges in mid-July. The property is beautiful and serene. The cabin, while pretty basic, had been recently renovated and was unbelievably clean. The beds were suprisingly comfortable. The kitchen was fairly well-stocked. The fire pit , grill and picnic tables just outside our door made for some fun evenings with our kiddos. Just be sure to take bug spray! There are some Texas-sized mosquitos in Concan!

The staff at Neal's are very friendly and helpful. Normally, guests are required to bring their own towels and linens. When I made the reservation and they found out we were coming several hundred miles, they offered to furnish our linens so we didn't have to pack them.

The swimming hole at Neal's is very nice, and very beautiful. I did notice some trash/cans on the walk down to the swimming hole and near the water. That was a bummer, because the place is so pretty.

The only other minor complaint I had about the place is that the walls are very thin and we got a lot of noise from our neighbors in the cabins that adjoined ours. We could hear every word from the televisions (wish they had never put those in) and most of the conversations of the people in the cabins. Fortunately, when we were back in the bedrooms sleeping we didn't hear any noise, and our neighbors seemed to be on the same schedule we were, so it wasn't a huge problem. Still, since we were trying to get away from cell phones, televisions, etc., it was a little annoying to hear Myth Busters coming through the walls.

A couple of things to be aware of if you stay at Neal's...we did not have cell phone service at all (which didn't bother us, but it would some people). Also, if you want anything other than typical camp store food (Fruit Loops, milk, ground beef, hot dogs, marshmallows, etc.) bring it with you. The nearest "real" grocery is 35 minutes away.

One more thing, if you stay at Neal's be sure to go on the hayride and go to the Frio River Bat Flight (there's nothing like having 12 million bats fly over your head at sunset!) Both were well worth the money.

  • Liked — The beautiful location.
  • Disliked — The noise from the other cabins.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

I have been coming to Neal's for over 25 years now. It's nice to visit a place that time seems to have forgotten. I have Sprint cell phone service, so I don't have service in Concan. That can be a blessing. When I come here, I even leave my computer at home. We have done tent camping and stayed in their lodges. Both have their benefits.

Neal's has been family owned and operated since 1926. If you're looking for a luxurious getaway....THIS IS NOT IT! This is for those who want to step back in time and enjoy nature's simple beauty and just have fun away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The cabins have a rustic charm. When you stay in one of the older cabins, you can just imagine your grandparents staying in that very same cabin when they were young. The tent sites are first come, first serve and there are only about a dozen of them. This is, in my opinion, the prettiest spot on the Frio river.

I've seen the same faces at the front desk and in the company store year after year. They almost feel like family to us when we visit. If you're visiting with kids, don't skip out on the "hayride". Actually there's no hay. A large tractor pulled trailer is decked out with clean mattresses and covered in clean sheets. Once boarded by the lucky passengers, the tractor pulls the trailer across the low river crossing and into the woods where watchful eyes can see rabbit, deer, skunks, armadillo, and who knows what else. After about 15 minutes, you reach your destination..... an isolated campsite along the river with a blazing campfire. A table is laid with cookies, pre-poured punch, watermelon slices, and lots of roasting sticks already loaded with marshmallows. Kids (young and old) roast and eat to their hearts content enjoying the sounds of the river until it is time to head back to the store. My kids are teens now and they still like going on the hayride.

Neals also offers lots of tubes that can be rented and a shuttle service for tubers.

We love this place!!!

  • Liked — Location and family atmosphere
  • Disliked — not a thing I'd change
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, tx
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

this is a nice little reterat with cabins in the texas hill country on the banks of the frio river - the scnery is beautiful and you can swim in the river - the cabins have air conditioning an dheating, television sets, microwaves, kitches, but you have to bring your own bed linens and towels - they are not furnished

there is a country store on the premises as well as a cafe - the cafe serves good food, the food is the best part - the pancakes were great as was the chicken fried steak

i attended a small conference held here - they do have a large cabin designed for meetings - this is not a full service hotel by any means but it is clean and would be appropriate for those who like the outdoors

the next time they have the conference at neal's lodges, i might go back for the conference but if you're looking for a hotel.motel, this isn;t it

the place is not well lit at night, so finding the cabin they put me in was a challenge - the staff are very friendly and helpful though

  • Liked — the ffod at the cafe
  • Disliked — not well lit at night - cabins difficult to find after dark
  • Tips/Secrets — this is not a motel/hotel - no sheets or towels provided - if you want these services, go elsewhere
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neal's Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neal's Lodges

Address: 20970 Hwy 127, Concan, TX 78838
Location: United States > Texas > Concan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Concan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neal's Lodges is a family owned historic resort on the Frio River built upon traditional family values. Since 1926 Neal's Lodges has been an all inclusive, year-round, destination. Located on the far Western edge of the beautiful Texas Hill Country, Neal's is committed to providing an exceptionally unique, Texas Lodging experience to our current and future guests. Eat at the Historic Cafe, swim in the famous swim hole, go horseback riding, hike, go on a hayride, cook smores by a campfire, float the Frio, Dance under the stars at Joe Jimmys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Neal`s Hotel Concan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neal's Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.