We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cabin w/ all the necessities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neal's Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neal's Lodges
Save
You added Neal's Lodges to your Saves list
20970 Hwy 127, Concan, TX 78838   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Concan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little cabin w/ all the necessities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My wife & I with 2 other couples just returned from a fun-filled weekend at Neals Cabins.
The cabin had 2 bedrooms w/ 4 double beds, a sleeper sofa in den. Sleeper sofa was not comfy. A/C rocked! It was clean as a cabin can be I guess. The location was close to birding trails & short walk to the Frio Rio. Had a fire pit in back & a grill, cover patio area for lounging. The restaurant onsite is great! Breakfast was stellar, be prepared to wait it is popular. Its the closet thing to camping without being uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    11
    12
    10
See reviews for
66
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Framingham
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We spent two nights and days at neals in April for a bird watching trip.

In terms of recommending the place it depends why you would want to go/stay here. for bird watching it is great, as a vacation place not so sure. NOt sure what you would do here except for river rafting. Not the most scenic area - but was a drought so maybe usually looks greener. The place is much more spread out than we realized from the map and does cross a main (for that area) road.

We stayed in one of the "newer" cabins. It was larger than we needed. but worked out ok. It had central AC.which worked fine and wasn't too noisy. the bathroom was ok. the beds are pretty basic. The room we used had 2 doubles in it. The first night we slept on the one they had made up for us. It sagged and creaked unbelievably. If you have hip or back issues, bring sleeping pills.

the second night we moved the bedding to the other bed - it turns out the box spring which seems to be a piece of plywood on top of ??? was sagging on the first bed. the second one was at least flat. still creaked but not as bad and the mattress felt better. More of a summer camp type mattress than a motel one.

the furnishings are minimal to say the least. SInce this was a double cabin with 4 beds (2 bedrooms, shared living room and kitchen) and 2 baths and was newer, it did have a couch and a table with 6 chairs. kitchen ( ants the first night - they did spray when we mentioned it = ok 2nd night). pots if you wanted to cook, pretty minimal.

there is no place to put luggage except one small table in each room or on the floor. no phone. no internet except at the office. room did have TV. we didn't watch.

on the positive side the room did not smell and was not musty.

the area is great for bird watching. they have several sites set up with feeders, water drips and chairs. we really enjoyed that. also feeders near the restaurant and the office. It is a great area for all kinds of birds in the spring. There is also someone available who leads bird walks every morning in spring. And there is a bat flight event at a cave nearby at sunset several nights a week. well worth seeing.

the office staff is very helpful and friendly. There is a small store with some food and other supplies on the place. Not sure where the closest grocery is. we had our own food for breakfast and lunch and ate at the restaurant for dinner.

The restaurant is ok. Not much in the way of salads or any fish. Not a health oriented menu. they are big on pepper and salt and seasonings.

Room Tip: ask for one of the newer rooms. cost more?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Great hiking, swimming and good shopping in Uvalde or day trip to Garner or Lost Maples..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I was a dissapointed with the fact that I had reserved a cabin and when I got there, they "them selves" had chosen another cabin for me. The one they picked with view of river was not of my likes. It was more expensive and not so nice. They ended up offering me another cabin, I ended up paying more for that, but I had driven sooo far and difinitely tired. I ended up paying the difference.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring;tex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

my family came there for the first time last year. had so much fun. cabin was really nice lots or room for all of us. their was 11 of use we rented the cabin on the hill the view was out of this world.we had so much fun it's has become our vacation spot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Nice, clean and very friendly people. LOVE to come here every year: )

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

we stayed in one of the least expensive cabins and I can see why they are least. It was filthy. I had to clean the entire cabin. the mattresses were as old as the cabin, with the springs popping up into our backs all night.the bathroom shower stall stopped up each time with water full of who knows what.We went down to the river on Mon and it was beautiful, but come thurs It was bumper to bumper under-aged,foul mouthed drunks with their music screaming out from each cluster of partys. If all you want to do is drink,smoke,swear in front of childeren and go pass out on a bed that you won't even feel,then this is the place for you.But if you care about what your children see and hear I'd advise you take them somewhere else. It is obvious to this mother that Neals lodges is NOT a family place any more.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neal's Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neal's Lodges

Address: 20970 Hwy 127, Concan, TX 78838
Location: United States > Texas > Concan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Concan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neal's Lodges is a family owned historic resort on the Frio River built upon traditional family values. Since 1926 Neal's Lodges has been an all inclusive, year-round, destination. Located on the far Western edge of the beautiful Texas Hill Country, Neal's is committed to providing an exceptionally unique, Texas Lodging experience to our current and future guests. Eat at the Historic Cafe, swim in the famous swim hole, go horseback riding, hike, go on a hayride, cook smores by a campfire, float the Frio, Dance under the stars at Joe Jimmys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Neal`s Hotel Concan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neal's Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.