We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Dis-Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Comfort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek
Save
You added Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek to your Saves list
845 High St., Comfort, TX   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fireplaces & Jacuzzis!!!
Ranked #5 of 7 Comfort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Customer Dis-Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Recently I had made a reservation to stay at this B&B. That reservation was quickly cancelled when the owner informed me that I would not be allowed to have my best man and my one other groomsman (total of 2 additional people) with me for "two hours" prior to my wedding because they were not registered "overnight" guests.
Honestly, I can't make a comment on the remainder of the topics (such as value, location, etc) because I didn't stay there. It was sufficient for me to experience the owner's uncaring attitude and lack of customer service that convinced me this B&B was not worth staying at.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dueces, Owner at Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent experience. When we had called to confirm the online reservation, you had asked about bringing additional guests onsite. Unfortunately, as stated in our policy provided online prior to making a reservation, it states we only accept guests staying overnight. It’s our goal to ensure that all guests staying with us receive the experience they were promised. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We hope in the future you will give us another try to experience the relaxing nature of our property.


Sincerely,

Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    15
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
57
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here. The huge lawn rolling down to the river is very serene. Just sit and hear nothing but nuts dropping from the trees. Very large room with a decent shower. Extensive breakfast buffet. Perfectly sited along Comfort's Main Street.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the 2 nights we spent at Meyer Bed and Breakfast. The room was great and the view of the lawn down to the creek with the deer there both morning and evening was perfect. We both enjoyed the assortment at breakfast and the view there was beautiful too. This is definitely a place we would try again.

Room Tip: When choosing a room, I would look at their website and choose what appeals to you; our room faced t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We really liked it a lot. It was such a nice escape. Almost a trip back in time. The rooms are all unique. We lived in the main house and had a great balcony with a wonderful view on the bayou and the deer on the otherside! Great breakfast. The Kids loved it too. We will come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I were blown back by the peacefulness we felt when we first arrived. The room was great, we stayed in Gaust House on the 2nd floor. The view from the room was nice, we saw the creek, and deer feed. The bed, and décor were great!

Grounds were up kept.

Breakfast - Everything was excellent! From the coffee, to the bread pudding (pull bread). We are definitely going back!

Pool and Jacuzzi were also great. BBQ pits near pool and near our room. The back porch of the Gaust house is awesome, multiple ceiling fans and comfortable lounge chairs.

We took a nice walk one block over, we wanted to try the pizza but it was closed. So we went by a Café that was very nice acroos from the Haust Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Rooms are worth 4 stars; but Innkeeper would not agree to provide Vegan breakfast -- not even soy-milk for coffee -- drops this Inn down to "Average" for me. The nice rooms + peace & quiet saved this Inn from my dropping them to 2 stars. Stayed one night while on a bicycling trip. Booked well in advance & Inn said they would provide a Vegan-friendly breakfast. Well, "not". Spoke with Innkeeper upon arrival who said she would only be serving an egg-dish for breakfast but "might" be able to provide some mixed fruit for me. No Vegan breakfast, here; and if soy-milk is desired, forget it. Vegans beware; "inflexibility" seems to be the rule at Meyer B&B. However a nice Vegan-friendly alternative to the non-Vegan breakfast at Meyer B&B emerges by just going up the street a couple blocks and saying "Howdy" to Comfort Cafe which does serve, upon request, a Vegan-friendly breakfast or lunch. They are flexible! Fortunately, Comfort Cafe has no association, whatsoever, with the non-accommodating Meyer B&B. And, Comfort Cafe does serve soy-milk for their excellent coffee. Returning to Meyer B&B, the rooms are quaint and cute. The cottages back to a small river or large creek; and all is peace and quiet. So, the property is nice and the town of Comfort has several nice antique shops in addition to the good food at the Vegan-friendly Comfort Cafe. Plenty of places in the countryside to bike or hike. Just don't expect a breakfast -- that is a Vegan-friendly breakfast -- at Meyer B&B. PS: my carnivore biking companions who ate the breakfast said it was not good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that backs to the creek. Nice view with extra peace & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dueces, Owner at Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
The Meyer takes great pride in making all of our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible. When guests make a reservation and notate a dietary request, we contact them regarding the menu we provide to make sure it works for them or if it can be modified to accommodate their request. Since you were part of a large group and did not make your reservation directly with us, your dietary needs were not communicated to us. Upon your late day arrival, we learned of your dietary needs and discussed our buffet choices that could fit your diet. In fairness, since we are not a cook- to-order restaurant, we only stock the fresh items that we use daily to prepare our delicious breakfast buffet. Fruits, tomatoes, breads, oatmeal and cereals were offered. Since we did not see you at breakfast, we presume our breakfast menu was not what you were looking for. We make every effort to honor our guests’ requests when given sufficient time. We are glad you enjoyed the view of the Cypress Creek and the quaintness The Meyer has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our second visit to the Meyer. We get together twice a year and go to cool places across Texas. Our revisit was just as wonderful as the first. We opted to stay together in the 3bed 2bath liv kit din house with porch facing the creek. It was very authentic with log walls and queen iron beds in all bedrooms. One bedroom had a jacuzzi tub in it. Breakfast was continental so don't expect eggs, sausage,bacon, anything heavy. It was really good, though.We had a full kitchen and could have cooked but didn't. I'm sure on a future trip we will return. It is just one of those places.

Room Tip: Get a screened porch or face the creek so you can watch the deer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek

Address: 845 High St., Comfort, TX
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Comfort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Comfort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1850s Texas Landmark located Comfort, TX centrally located in the Heart of the Texas Hill Country. Enjoy a full hot breakfast each morning while overlooking the banks of the Cypress Creek. Jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces available in many suites. Private cottage is available with great view of the water overlooking the creek. Pool and Hot Tub available for your relaxation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meyer Bed and Breakfast on Cypress Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.