We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cheeseburger ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double D Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Double D Family Restaurant
1004 Front Street, Comfort, TX
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Comfort
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Pearland, Texas
1 review
“Best Cheeseburger ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

You'd be hard pressed to find a better Cheeseburger in the Hill Country. I stopped in for onion rings and a cheeseburger, and it was just the best! My colorful waiter Bo was very informative about the history of Comfort which added to an enjoyable experience. This Hill Country Restaurant has plenty of good food and good hospitality. I will definitely stop in again when in Comfort!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
1 review
“Absolutely great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This place absolutely has the best burgers in Texas....made exactly how I wanted mine. And the onion rings, made from scratch...not frozen, are out of this world. The service I received from the waiter, Bo, was top of the line. He continuously came by to see if we needed anything else and to ask how the food was. The atmosphere is friendly and pleasant. I can not wait for their bar to open next week.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A surprising gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Not a particularly attractive place on outside but terrific food and very friendly folks inside. I asked our waiter, Bo, about the area and he told me lots of most interesting history. Coffee very good and food plentiful and quite tasty. Will go again when in the area!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You got to be kidding”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just a really bad place to eat
Poor food, not clean and service was probably was the worst I have ever had.
Good example of why cousins should never marry

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
“Accidentally Found - A Keeper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stopped in Comfort and accidentally found this gem. The hamburgers were hand-formed, big and down-right yummy. The buns were grilled warm and the onion rings were one-of-a-kind hand-battered with a batter unlike we had eaten before. And the portions were very generous! Would return just to eat those again! The grilled cheese sandwich with jalapeños was ooey, gooey and tasty, tasty. Carol the waitress really helped to make our time there memorable by being very accommodating and genuinely sweet. Thank you Carol for the great service and for laughing with us!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double D Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Double D Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double D Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.