We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Columbus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Columbus to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Columbus
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4321 Interstate 10, I-10/US Highwayt 71, Exit 696, Columbus, TX 78934   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Columbus
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here 1 night. First off, they need to fix the big lighted sign on the front of the building. It has a couple letters that are not lit up, gives a neglected appearance. My room had a burnt out light bulb which I reported and nothing ever came of it. The staff is friendly enough though and cheerful. Little details make the difference. The room was just OK, couch looked a little worse for wear. The bed was comfortable and the TV was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiExColumbus14, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your feed back, with the issue of the sign is in to be fixed within a few weeks, have someone coming out. next the light bulb issue, my night auditor tried to come and fix it, but was unable to get into the room to fix it.

I am happy to hear that the bed was comfortable and the TV was good.

we would like to see you back the next time that you are in the area, and we will make sure that your stay is up to date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
6
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

First off I'd like to say the rooms are below average for Holiday express! I stayed there for allmost 2 weeks was also denied points because We paid 75$ rate!! Like a hotel wouldn't give you a reduced rate for staying that many nites! It's the new way with IHG properties to acoid giving points at all cost! One of the breakfast ladies was friendly enough to tell us she had fleas at her house because of unknown reasons. Obviously we skipped breakfast. The staff was friendly but this hotel is below average. I would drive to Houston and avoid this town at all cost!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Phil C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We always strive to service all our guests and on this occasion we regret your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been. We would like to address this further and have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I had a great time staying in Columbus, the town was so beautiful!! Quaint, and had a lot of restaurants to choose from!
The Holiday Inn Express was nice as well. Clean beds, good sized rooms, and awesome staff! I particularly enjoyed dealing with Kristen at check-in. She was very knowledgeable about the area, and seemed so excited about her job, it was a fresh and upbeat experience! The next day I came through on my way at and checked out with Jackie the manager, and was surprised by her wit and humor!!
Great place! Will return!

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor, less traffic above your head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our road trip took longer than expected and we did not arrive at the hotel until around 10pm. Around 9:30, I received a call from a woman at the hotel. She was genuinely concerned and asked if we were OK and if we were still coming. I explained that we were late and all was OK with that. She was very nice.

When we arrived, she was gone. A young man was at the desk. When I booked the hotel, I called the hotel directly, put two rooms under my name and confirmed that we could pay separately and points would not be an issue.

At check-in, this young man said my room number aloud. This creates a security risk and when strangers are around, I require a different room. I never say my room number aloud. When clerks say my room number, I use it as a training moment - which I did here. Now, the young man could have said, "Good feedback. Thank you." But instead, he did the following:

#1 - He Told me that my concern was not valid because all Holiday Inn properties train desk clerks to SAY the room number and that it is a courtesy to "help me find my room."

#2 - He then told me that every weekend, when he stays at the Crowne Plaza out of town, they "say his room number and it's no big deal."

#3 - Then, we asked to pay separate and to each collect our own Priority Club points. He said that the way I made the reservation made it impossible for him to separate the points and that I should consider this the next time I made reservations.

Staying in control of myself, I asked the name of the GM and when that person arrives at work. Melinda is the GM and she arrived the next morning at 6:00.

We approached the counter, saw Melinda, confirmed her as the GM. We complimented the caller from the previous evening. Then we shared the story of the check-in clerk with her. She agreed that his behavior was juvenile and unprofessional. I suggested Melinda might use this as a "Training opportunity." But, after reading other reviews, sounds like this kid needs to get the boot and learn a lesson about customer service.

Melinda was also able to separate our points before we left the hotel - thus all was good by departure time.

The breakfast was standard HIExp fare. My husband had to ask the employee to empty it. We also had to ask for bananas. But, when she was notified of a problem, she smiled and took care of it.

We found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, easy to get to and near services such as gas, groceries and food. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: A room is a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

First of all, the staff at this property were nice to my wife and I, and we had no trouble with service. However, the property itself is not of the usual caliber of a Holiday Inn Express. While I do understand according to the manager that the property is not re-branded, I agree with the previous commenter that it feels that way. The construction just doesn't live up to the normal brand standards, and while the property is in alright shape as of now, I can see it going down hill much faster than a well-built property. The carpet was certainly a low spot in the room. On the brighter side, there is an actual Dish receiver in the room, so you're not stuck with just a few channels of Standard Definition TV like at some properties. There wasn't anything really wrong with the stay, just nothing that stands out and makes me want to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived saturday night and had to stand at the counter a long time because the front desk clerk was watching football game in another room. He came to check us in during a commercial. The mattress was in poor condition and the poor workmanship of the building construction shows, especially in the bathroom. I bet this was a cheaper hotel re-branded as Holiday Inn Express, because I've stayed at plenty of Holiday Inn Express much nicer. This one doesnt really live up to the brand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaDColumbus, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good Morning ,

I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I cant imagine one of our front desk clerks watching a football game and waiting for a commercial to come on to check you in this is unacceptable and I need to corrected it. Unfortunately I am unable to find your name in our system. I don't show that you have ever stayed here. If you could please supply me with a date and name. I can preview on camera what happened on that date and take proper measurements to assure this doesn't happen again. We are not a Re-branded Hotel, We have always been a Holiday Inn Express. We pride ourselves on good service and good products. All of the mattress in every room are new with the name and date of your stay I can find what room you stayed in and see if that particular mattress has defects. Again, I'm sorry that you did not have a good experience , if you are ever in the area again please come by and let us make it up to you .

Sincerely ,
Melinda Duque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Staff was very welcoming at almost 11pm when we arrived. Very clean and inviting but strange smell in the 3rd floor room - yet nothing to prevent a good night's sleep. Delicious breakfast with a nice variety. We would stay again, in fact this was our second stay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaDColumbus, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good Afternoon ,

Thank you so much for you comments it means a lot to us. We love seeing good reviews and We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you from all of us here at Holiday inn Express Columbus TX .

Sincerely ,
Melinda Duque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Columbus

Address: 4321 Interstate 10, I-10/US Highwayt 71, Exit 696, Columbus, TX 78934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Columbus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites and wake up to a free deluxe hot breakfast beginning at 6:30 AM until 9:30 AM (featuring scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits, sausage gravy, our famous cinnamon rolls, assorted breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, whole grain cereals, pastries, muffins, milk and juices). Complimentary coffee and tea 24 hours a day. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus, TX is the best modern hotel for the value-oriented traveler. This impressive facility offers 67 spacious guest rooms, awarded a Certificate of achievement for 2007/2008 Most Improved Overall Satisfaction Score!(new paint inside and out, bedding, mattresses, pillows, lamps, carpet in rooms and corridors, new bathroom tile and granite counter tops, new AC/heaters in every room, fitness center and business center). 16 specialty suites with amenities such as flat screen TVs, whirlpool tubs, mini-refrigerators and microwaves, handicap accessible suites available. We are pet friendly, So come Stay Smart and enjoy our historical town and beautiful scenery, with lots of antique shops to choose from, The downtown opera house with dinner theater, historical home tours and Colorado River activities. We also offer in all of our rooms spacious work areas, 2-line speaker phones, voice mail, and data-ports for Internet access as well as wireless Internet. Visit Columbus, TX and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Columbus Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.