We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Columbus

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Columbus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Columbus
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4321 Interstate 10, I-10/US Highwayt 71, Exit 696, Columbus, TX 78934   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Columbus
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mediocre Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

First of all, the staff at this property were nice to my wife and I, and we had no trouble with service. However, the property itself is not of the usual caliber of a Holiday Inn Express. While I do understand according to the manager that the property is not re-branded, I agree with the previous commenter that it feels that way. The construction just doesn't live up to the normal brand standards, and while the property is in alright shape as of now, I can see it going down hill much faster than a well-built property. The carpet was certainly a low spot in the room. On the brighter side, there is an actual Dish receiver in the room, so you're not stuck with just a few channels of Standard Definition TV like at some properties. There wasn't anything really wrong with the stay, just nothing that stands out and makes me want to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
5
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived saturday night and had to stand at the counter a long time because the front desk clerk was watching football game in another room. He came to check us in during a commercial. The mattress was in poor condition and the poor workmanship of the building construction shows, especially in the bathroom. I bet this was a cheaper hotel re-branded as Holiday Inn Express, because I've stayed at plenty of Holiday Inn Express much nicer. This one doesnt really live up to the brand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaDColumbus, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good Morning ,

I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I cant imagine one of our front desk clerks watching a football game and waiting for a commercial to come on to check you in this is unacceptable and I need to corrected it. Unfortunately I am unable to find your name in our system. I don't show that you have ever stayed here. If you could please supply me with a date and name. I can preview on camera what happened on that date and take proper measurements to assure this doesn't happen again. We are not a Re-branded Hotel, We have always been a Holiday Inn Express. We pride ourselves on good service and good products. All of the mattress in every room are new with the name and date of your stay I can find what room you stayed in and see if that particular mattress has defects. Again, I'm sorry that you did not have a good experience , if you are ever in the area again please come by and let us make it up to you .

Sincerely ,
Melinda Duque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Staff was very welcoming at almost 11pm when we arrived. Very clean and inviting but strange smell in the 3rd floor room - yet nothing to prevent a good night's sleep. Delicious breakfast with a nice variety. We would stay again, in fact this was our second stay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaDColumbus, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good Afternoon ,

Thank you so much for you comments it means a lot to us. We love seeing good reviews and We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you from all of us here at Holiday inn Express Columbus TX .

Sincerely ,
Melinda Duque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. This is my second stay here and I'm still happy. It's reasonably priced and the rooms are clean and bed is comfy! Front desk is clean and check in was a breeze!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaDColumbus, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good Morning ,

Thank you so much for you comments we really appreciate it. This is what we work so hard to do is to please our guest. Its good to hear that we are doing our job. Again,Thank you from all us here at Holiday Inn Express Columbus TX .


Sincerely ,
Melinda Duque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

First of all it an easy off and easy on on I 10 interstate. Its close to various restaurants,an HEB, and a Walmart close by in case you need anything. The people are friendly and helpfull. The morning breakfast is good and free. My rooms have all been clean and neat.The TV has many channels, also good A.C.

Room Tip: The south side rooms are a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaDColumbus, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and hotel from your visits with us! We appreciate your comments and thank you for your business.
We have a great team at the property and everyone is dedicated to delivering top quality service. According to your review, we have been successful relating to that matter.
Thanks again for your kind words and sharing with other travelers. See you in Columbus TX soon!

Melinda Duque

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Columbus TX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Conveniently located off of the freeway. Front desk staff was friendly and knowledgable. Favorite part of my stay was the fresh, deluxe breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable. Price was just right for an unexpected stop along my trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaDColumbus, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites for your recent stay in Columbus TX. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites .

Melinda Duque

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Columbus TX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I have to agree with others that say this hotel is noisy. The walls are very thin. You can hear the rooms next to you and above you, so try to get a room on the top floor and on the end of the hall. Other than the noise, the hotel was not bad. The service was friendly and the room was clean. The breakfast was pretty good compared to most "free" breakfast at other hotels. We have stayed at this hotel twice. It appears from the outside to be the nicest in the area although there is a new Comfort Inn that looks nice too. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I needed a hotel in this area, but I would try to get a better room placement.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaDColumbus, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are sorry that you did not get a well rested evening at our hotel. We understand that our guests have choices when it comes to lodging and appreciate the fact that you stayed with us. I tried to find your name so that I could pull up your profile in our computer system and tag it with the problem that you had during your last stay . By tagging your profile we can avoid this problem during your future visits . If you would like me tag your profile please call me toll free 1.866.901.9301
Again, we apologize for your experience at the hotel and hope that you will return to the property in the future.

Thank you for your review ,

Melinda Duque
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Columbus TX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Columbus

Address: 4321 Interstate 10, I-10/US Highwayt 71, Exit 696, Columbus, TX 78934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Columbus 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites and wake up to a free deluxe hot breakfast beginning at 6:30 AM until 9:30 AM (featuring scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits, sausage gravy, our famous cinnamon rolls, assorted breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, whole grain cereals, pastries, muffins, milk and juices). Complimentary coffee and tea 24 hours a day. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus, TX is the best modern hotel for the value-oriented traveler. This impressive facility offers 67 spacious guest rooms, awarded a Certificate of achievement for 2007/2008 Most Improved Overall Satisfaction Score!(new paint inside and out, bedding, mattresses, pillows, lamps, carpet in rooms and corridors, new bathroom tile and granite counter tops, new AC/heaters in every room, fitness center and business center). 16 specialty suites with amenities such as flat screen TVs, whirlpool tubs, mini-refrigerators and microwaves, handicap accessible suites available. We are pet friendly, So come Stay Smart and enjoy our historical town and beautiful scenery, with lots of antique shops to choose from, The downtown opera house with dinner theater, historical home tours and Colorado River activities. We also offer in all of our rooms spacious work areas, 2-line speaker phones, voice mail, and data-ports for Internet access as well as wireless Internet. Visit Columbus, TX and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Columbus Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.