We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed menu and mixed review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of From Across the Pond

From Across the Pond
8447 Blvd 26, Now "North Richland Hills" ... not Colleyville, Colleyville, TX 76180
817-428-2332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 57 Restaurants in Colleyville
Cuisines: English, Pizza & Pasta
Description: English pub food but with pizza and other Italian favorites.
Restaurant details
Description: English pub food but with pizza and other Italian favorites.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Mixed menu and mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The menu combines Italian dishes with some British dishes. The fish and chips were highly rated by our dining companion, the fries were excellent, The Banger and Mash was good with a large amount but mostly potatoes. The chicken salad was good with an ample amount of well prepared chicken. The greens were average. The Italian dishes are a carry over from the prior
restaurant and were at best average If you are looking for vegetables this is not the place for you . They are missing.
The bread is excellent, a real plus as is the option for some gluten free items.
During our visit the owners were not in sight
Service was good and friendly. Pricing is competitive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful, family-owned and operated restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

From Across the Pond is a family-owned and family-run restaurant in Colleyville. When you walk in you'll immediately be greeted by either one of the owners, Lee and Emma, or another lovely member of their family. Soon after being seated, you'll be served some of the most delicious bread with marinara sauce you've ever eaten. I know weird right, Italian bread at a British restaurant? Well, not so much. From Across the Pond used to be a pizza/pasta joint, so Lee and Emma decided to keep some of their delicious Italian food on the menu.

Speaking of the menu, they have a wide range of foods. If you're in the mood for Italian, they have the usual fare - lasagna, alfredo, pizza - but you must absolutely try their pasta Michelangelo. Just trust me. It's delicious. If you're in the mood for British, they have phenomenal bangers and mash, and their fish and chips are delicious and authentic. I'm British myself and have taken four generations of my family here and we all agree: this is authentic stuff. The menu is going through a bit of a transition now... you can order "off the menu" and get chicken tikka masala (which I have heard is fantastic), as well as scotch eggs and battered sausage. All things I can't wait to try. And I've heard there are more exciting things to come. And finally, if you have enough room for dessert, they have the most mouthwatering bread and butter pudding. Not too sweet, creamy with a bit of a crunch.

I love this place for so many reasons. The owners are so lovely and take time to interact with as many diners as they can. You can tell they have put their heart and soul into this restaurant. They have Thursday night Karaoke early enough to be kid-friendly. It's BYOB so I can save money and take my own bottle of wine. They have the largest gluten-free menu around (Lee and his son both have celiac disease). Add to that good food at a good price point, it simply can't be beat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a "Pub" that needs a liquor license”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm sure they're working on this, but this was the first ever establishment with "PUB" on it's sign, that is BYOB. A bit of a surprise when it was announced by the waitress after we asked what was on tap. Otherwise, the food was pretty good. I had the lasagna. My husband had the traditional "Bangers and Mash." Serving sizes were large and the staff was very friendly. A nice, family restaurant... but not much of a "PUB." Will maybe try again if I hear they get a license to serve.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A _must_ for gluten-free diners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Most of the menu is gluten-free, and what I've had so far (fish & chips, bread) was well-executed and, above all, delicious. I fully intend to return to try the rest of the ample GF menu. However, what made it such a special dining experience was that the owners really understand the needs of celiacs and gluten-intolerant customers and the dangers of cross-contamination; they're also very genial hosts!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great fish & chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Got carry out the first time and it was excellent! Can't wait to go back and try the Shepherd's Pie!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed From Across the Pond also viewed

 
Colleyville, TX
Colleyville, TX
 

Been to From Across the Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage From Across the Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.