We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn College Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn College Station to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn College Station
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   607 Texas Ave, College Station, TX 77840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in College Station
San Marcos
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We have stayed at this hotel many times due to a state contract when conducting business with TAMU. It has usually been ok. This time, our room was not ready by the promised 3 pm, so they said we could park and wait as it would just be a short time. When we parked, we saw the housekeeping staff going in and out of the non-smoking room we requested...smoking the whole time! So we asked for another room. Housekeeping had left a cleaning towel on the bathroom floor. There was no remote...we had to request it and another pillow. The AC unit fan would not run continuously even when set on low rather than auto, and the noise kept waking us up as it cut off and came on. The entire facility seems to have gotten much more run down than in past trips. Although it was tolerable, we will look elsewhere next time as there are many options in the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Condition of facility; lack of professional staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    47
    44
    47
See reviews for
85
14
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
College Station, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone because of sanitation issues. When I stayed at this hotel in March, there were huge flying roaches (yes, more than one) in our hotel room and in the parking lot. I complained to the front desk and was switched to another room around midnight, but the hotel staff did not appear to take our complaints seriously. Perhaps the hotel staff members don't realize that roach infestation is a serious hygiene issue. Furthermore, when I wrote La Quinta to inform them about my visit, the hotel manager wrote me and said that she would get me a certificate to stay at another La Quinta for free. It's mid-June and I still haven't seen anything.

  • Disliked — roaches galore
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

The hotel is conveniently located to Texas A&M. However, if you are paying more than $65 a night, you can do better. The rooms look aged, the property looks second rate from the exterior and the electrical, and wifi network have some intermiitent issues. Further, La Quinta permits dogs - and interimittent yapping can interrupt sleep.

  • Liked — Location to A&M
  • Disliked — Dogs in neighboring rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the Hampton Inn
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2006

La Quinta was okay. Housekeeping needs to play closer attention to cleaning rooms. They did not change sheets in the 5 days I was there. The breakfast is a nice idea, but the items go very quickly. The staff were very pleasant especially the shuttle bus drivers. Keep trying LaQ, you will get it right one day...I probably would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2004

Stayed here August 2004. Asked to see a room before checking in for a 4 night stay. Front desk attendant could not have been more helpful. She showed me many rooms until I (she, actually) was satisfied with their cleanliness (we were moving from a dirty hotel down the road). Along the way she made notes of things to have housekeeping take care of - none of it caught my attention but she was alert!
Each day as we passed the front desk on our way out, she greeted us and asked if there was anything that our room needed.
Continental breakfast was not very good. Fruit and yogurt were all gone before breakfast was half over. Dirty tables, no one watching to replenish missing items, yet staff was constantly there to eat from the buffet.
Appeared there was something wrong with the pool - very cloudy.
Would stay here again as it is clean and very reasonable. If you are not looking for 'reasonable' go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2004

In March of this year our school reserved four (4) rooms for a state contest in the area and we stayed at the La Quinta. We paid by check and since we were arriving late, I gave their office my personal credit card to hold the rooms for late arrival. They cashed the check and then charged my credit card for a portion of the bill. I have called the manager three times, sent a certified letter and a fax asking that the situation be corrected. Some four months later the situation has not been resolved.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn College Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn College Station

Address: 607 Texas Ave, College Station, TX 77840
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn College Station 2*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn College Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Hotel College Station
La Quinta College Station

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn College Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.