We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty, Stinky, and Old.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Texas Ave. South, College Station, TX 77840 (Formerly Knights Inn College Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in College Station
Hamshire, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nasty, Stinky, and Old.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Only stayed here one night because my husband was still in fire training school, and there were NO available rooms at any hotel in the area due to the fire training school and 7 on 7 tournament. The hotel is very old and outdated. The "non-smoking"room smelled like a mixture of mold, cigarattes and cigars. There was mold in the shower. Its one of those places you walk in and dont want to touch anything. Pool was filthy and on the verge of turning green. Grounds had not been mowed in quite some time. Trash everywhere. No clear path to pool, forced to walk in dirt. No room in breakfast area for two people to walk side by side by bar. Not kept up.

Room Tip: Never ever stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    36
    31
    49
See reviews for
56
7
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Would not have considered staying here but choices were very limited due to 7 v7 state football tournament. We were in town for an A&M campus visit and arrived late and left early so really just needed a place to sleep. Room was clean and there was a small fridge and microwave. Water pressure in shower was awesome and it looked like carpet was fairly new. Towels were small and very thin and bedding was terrible....old style bedspreads with a small scratchy blanket. Old style motel with outside doors. Ok for this trip but would not stay here again given another choice.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have stayed here in the past and find the facilities fit the price, the staff were able to meet my peculiar requirements without a problem!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochart
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Very unhelpful Staff.Paid for rooms up front and had to leave because of bad weather, they would not give a refund .Said would give Credit at next stay. They wouldn't do that either..... I strongly
advice not to stay at this establishment.

Room Tip: Don't go to this Location;
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was the only room we could find given that our event on the A&M campus coincided with parent's weekend. Badly worn towels, loud air conditioner, and a breakfast room to avoid. I'm estimating this place was build in the early 1970's and has had some adequate updates. On the plus side, the small outside pool was fairly well kept and both the carpet and bedding was relatively new. The refrigerator and microwave helped ease the pain. Wouldn't be bad if you just need a bed for $70, but at $140 this was truely one of the worst values I've seen in the US outside of a major metropolitan area.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are closer to the pool and don't face Applebee's (probably quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The free breakfast was a typical hotel breakfast with a waffle maker, breakfast cereals, muffins, etc.

Our room was clean, so no complaints there. The only thing I didn't like is that they only provide shampoo and hand soap in the rooms, no lotion. The towels weren't soft either.

The main person that worked at the reception desk (I'm assuming it was the owner) was not blessed with customer service skills. He wasn't mean or grouchy, but he didn't smile or act friendly.

I didn't have a problem with the parking but that is probably because the hotel was not full. If the hotel was full I can see how parking would be a problem, so make sure there is not an event going on if you are going to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My husband and I reserved two rooms for our family for one night at Knight's Inn in College Station, TX in Dec. 2011. We were there for our son's ARMY commissioning ceremony on a Friday evening and needed to stay overnight to attend his graduation from A&M the following morning. When we checked in, we were told that their system had some kind of "problem" with charging two rooms to the same person (???) and we were told that there would be a credit given for some sort of overcharge they had made. We did not think too much about it and signed the paperwork for the scheduled price for the two rooms for one night. The next morning, we had to be at the graduation very early (leaving before 7:30 A.M.) to get a seat; the ceremony began at 9:00. We knew that the check-out time was 11:00 but we had no idea how long the service would take nor did we realize that we would not be able to get back to the hotel to make arrangements with them. I assumed that they would work favorably with the families of graduates as this town makes most of its revenue off of the visiting families of the university students. At any rate, we were not able to return to the hotel until about noon, or very shortly afterward. Our oldest son's room had been locked with his belongings in it (ours was still accessible). He went to the front desk to request that the door be unlocked for him to get his bags and the man on duty became very upset and almost abusive. He was not going to let him back into the room and then began to mention our negligence in not observing the check-out time. He threatened to add another day's charges to our bill. My son was almost to the point of calling the police when he desk clerk finally agreed to let him back into his room. We did not know any of this until we checked out and realized that we had indeed been charged with a second night! We protested this but were told that since they had called us and we did not answer, they were within their rights to add this charge. Keep in mind, we were just slightly over one hour late upon returning. We explained the situation to them, and that one of the numbers was our home (obviously we would not answer that one!) and we did not have cell phone service in the stadium where we were (we tried to call them but could not do so). Even with this particular situation, they refused to relinquish their demand that we pay an extra night's charges. We informed them that we would not pay this extra amount. As soon as we got on the road, my husband called our credit card company to protest these charges. It appeared that we had indeed been charged for the first night as we expected, for the second night as they said they would do, but also another charge had been run early in the morning the second day apparently for the amount that we were told would be credited to us the day before (because of their system's error)! Never in my travel experiences have I been treated in such a manner. There is no excuse for this kind of unprofessional behavior and lack of respect for the consumer. I would definitely never stay and any Knight's Inn ever again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 104 Texas Ave. South, College Station, TX 77840 (Formerly Knights Inn College Station)
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled motel that provides in-room safes, microwaves and refrigerators in every room. Pet friendly small deposit required. Free continental breakfast hours 6:30-9:30. Guest laundry on site. Extended stay rates available. Smoking rooms available. Local restaurants and area attractions just minutes away. Walking distance to A&M University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn College Station Hotel College Station
College Station Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.