We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service - will stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton College Station & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton College Station & Conference Center to your Saves list
Hilton College Station & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 University Drive East, College Station, TX 77840-2116   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast and WiFi
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in College Station
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service - will stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Nice location, central to the area right off University Drive. I was upgraded to a suite room and floor due to my program points/level.

Large room with a king and a fold out bed/sofa, two TVs, 3 end tables, a desk, two chairs, a mini fridge, and a microwave. Clean. Nice size bath towels. Cold AC.

The restaurant has a expansive breakfast buffet for $11 with hot and cold sides and an omelet bar. We enjoyed the variety of the food.

They have customer service down – ask a question and they give you the right answer; when they didn’t know, they apologized and then found out; need extra towels – boom, you got them; need a number for a local restaurant – boom, you get the number, a copy of the menu, and they make the reservations for you. Note – all of this was at the front desk not with the concierge.

Fitness room, pool, internet and parking were all covered in the cost of the room.

Being picky – the bathroom is small, there were small cracks/paint peeling on the bathroom ceiling likely from the humidity/moisture buildup; the closet while a good size is in the corner next to the end table which makes access difficult; and the sofa has a spill stain on it (we flipped the cushion).

Overall, very pleased with the stay and we will stay here again upon our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCSGM, General Manager at Hilton College Station & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us. Please stop by and say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    111
    58
    30
    18
See reviews for
83
39
22
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Came up to spend a day with our Aggie. We chose this hotel because they do not charge a pet deposit. The outside appearance was quite nice, although the design is dated. The desk staff were not overly friendly when I walked up. The first room I was given was right next to the ice maker and vending machines. The second room right across from it. Yes, I did ask for a 3rd room and at first, was told there were no king rooms available except near the ice machine. This is a non-game weekend, there is NO ONE in College Station, are you kidding? I stayed nonplussed and finally the 3rd room was satisfactory, although on the street side.

The room had no refrigerator and a tiny 2-cup coffee maker. Almost any hotel room, even the low-end ones, at least includes a refrigerator. Our dogs's food needs to be kept cool, so this was a disappointment.

My main complaint was that I could not connect to the hotel's wi-fi for longer than about 1 minute and then I had to go through the Windows repair connection feature to re-connect. When I called the front desk, the young girl told me that they hotel was full and that the volume of people on the system must be the problem. Well, when I got up the next morning at 7 a.m., I had the same problem, and I doubt if the prospective college students that were blamed at 11 p.m. the night before were even awake! Next excuse: maybe the radio transmitter on my floor was going out. Same desk staff said she could call the IT manager but didn't want to wake him up that early on a Saturday. What would they have done for a business customer, I wonder??

This hotel is old-fashioned in another way. They offer no free breakfast of any kind, not even a decent cup of coffee. They have a regular restaurant as well as a small deli counter, so if you don't mind paying another $15.00 on top of your already more expensive room charge, go for it. I packed up and went across the street to the Blue Baker, where the dog and I sat outside and enjoyed a bagel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCSGM, General Manager at Hilton College Station & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thanks for your commentss and I do take them seriously. We are in the process of renovating all of our guest rooms and public space and will be adding refrigerators, 80 already iunstalled to date, and safes to our guest rooms. The swiming pool is completly redone and looks great. We do have a specially priced continental breakfast so one does not have to have the complete breakfast if they prefer not to have the hot food even though hot cerakls are included in the continental. We have since your stay added band width to our wireless internet and it is very reliable and has been since this upgrade. Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback and stop by and say hello the next time you are staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Should have know something was up when I saw the dead cricket in my the room. The carpet must be from the 1980's, the ceiling tiles and paint haven't been touch for just as long. And I was staying on the 11th floor, the Hilton Diamond Member floor. Can't even imagine what the other rooms looked like. The lobby and staff were the only bright point. Not up to Hilton standards at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCSGM, Manager at Hilton College Station & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at The Hilton College Station. We just wanted to share some exciting news with you. We are currently undergoing a major renovation, which includes a full rooms renovation, updates to our pool, public space and meeting rooms. We hope that the next time you are in College Station you will stop by and see our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Th\e staff at the Hilton College Station continue to offer outstanding service, the quality and professionalism of thier staff is impressive!

Whenever my wife, my four legged son and I arrive at this hotel we are welcomed with open arms and made to feel at home. They cannot due enough for us and always exceed expectations. there have been many newer hotels popping up around them, but they continure to kick butt! PLUS, they are PET friendly! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone passing through College Station, Texas

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCSGM, Manager at Hilton College Station & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at The Hilton College Station. We just wanted to share some exciting news with you. We are currently undergoing a major renovation, which includes a full rooms renovation, updates to our pool, public space and meeting rooms. We hope that the next time you are in College Station you will stop by and see our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Second stay in 12 months. Every encounter with hotel staff (desk, housekeeping, restaurant) includes a smile and a genuine effort to help.

Room OK with carpet worn and desk chair tired (would keep sinking after adjustment).

Great location, can walk to some restaurants.

My choice when returning to College Station.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCSGM, Manager at Hilton College Station & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at The Hilton College Station. We just wanted to share some exciting news with you. We are currently undergoing a major renovation, which includes a full rooms renovation, updates to our pool, public space and meeting rooms. We hope that the next time you are in College Station you will stop by and see our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We've stayed at the Hilton 3 times now, getting our son ready for college at Texas A&M. If you don't like kids or large groups, this probably isn't the hotel for you. It seems to be popular with youth sports tournament participants. Each time we've stayed here, (November '09, June & July '10) there was some youth sports group also staying at the hotel. It can get a little rowdy/noisy with lots of kids running around, playing on the elevators, etc. There are only 2 elevators and sometimes the wait was 5+ minutes if a lot of people were coming in at once. The rooms have been great...comfortable and clean. The "Starbucks" type coffee shop in the lobby is nice. All of the staff we have encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. They have a decent fitness area with 3-4 treadmills, elliptical machines, bikes and free weights. In addition, there are many restaurants within walking distance. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCSGM, Manager at Hilton College Station & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at The Hilton College Station. We just wanted to share some exciting news with you. We are currently undergoing a major renovation, which includes a full rooms renovation, updates to our pool, public space and meeting rooms. We hope that the next time you are in College Station you will stop by and see our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights during graduation in a Junior Suite. The suite was spacious and comfortable, but as others have pointed out the carpet really needs work. We even had a few large spots that were sticky. (Not a great feeling walking on one of those in bare feet in the middle of the night!)

Also, while a large HD television is in the room, apparently high definition service is not available.

During our stay, housekeeping kept "forgetting" to leave washcloths. Only 2 towels were provided and no washclothes. This included when we checked in, and each day of our stay. When we would call the front desk, they promptly sent some up each day, but it seemed like a very odd oversight to happen every day.

Having robes in the room are always a nice touch for a hotel like the Hilton, however it did seem odd that only one was provided -- normally they'd provide two. Per our request, though, they did bring a second up when we called about the towel issue the first day.

Finally, a "turn down" service was provided the second night of our stay, but not the other nights.

For any HHonors Gold (or above) members -- while the top 3 floors (9 to 11) are designated as HHonors floors, they are NOT limited access and do NOT have an HHonors lounge. Instead, if you receive a complimentary breakfast due to your HHonors level, you will simply receive them as coupons for use on the "cold section" of the breakfast buffet.

We considered staying here again on our next visit, but for the price we've decided to try another of the places listed on Trip Advisor's "top" places the next time. I like Hiltons, as well as the "full service" aspect of the hotel, but this one is simply not up to par with others we've stayed at. It has nice potential, but needs significant upgrades and definately better housekeepers. In most any other place where other full service hotels are available, we'd give this one a 3 star or even less -- but just considering it's College Station we'll give it 4. Unless they make improvements, we'd recommend staying here ONLY if having the full service aspects of the in-hotel restaurant, bar and room service are important to you. Otherwise, there appear to be better options.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCSGM, Manager at Hilton College Station & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at The Hilton College Station. We just wanted to share some exciting news with you. We are currently undergoing a major renovation, which includes a full rooms renovation, updates to our pool, public space and meeting rooms. We hope that the next time you are in College Station you will stop by and see our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton College Station & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton College Station & Conference Center

Address: 801 University Drive East, College Station, TX 77840-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton College Station & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the intersection of University Drive and Tarrow Boulevard in College Station, Texas, the Hilton College Station & Conference Center offers guests easy access to Texas A&M University, Brazos Valley and Bryan, TX. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton College Station & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton College Station And Conference Center
Hilton College Station Hotel College Station
College Station Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton College Station & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.