We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Pho” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pho John's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pho John's
1901 Texas Ave. S, College Station, TX 77840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Decent Pho”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place got good reviews on Yelp so we decided to try it out. When we walked in around 5:30 on a Friday, it was literally empty so we were skeptical. It was decent pho. We ordered the fried spring rolls for an appetizer and it was just okay. The roll wasn't evenly cooked so it wasn't as crispy. You can see from the coloring that it was brown and white spots.

We ordered the two pho and one dry vermicelli noodles with pork. The pork in my vermicelli was very dry and chewy, it was almost like eating beef jerky. The noodles seemed a bit overcooked. The flavor wasn't bad but it was hard chewing my way through the meal. I think the noodles were overcooked in the hot noodles too.

The restaurant itself is typical of a lot of Vietnamese restaurants. You don't go for the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The correct College Station Pho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Unlike Rosie's just around the corner, Pho John's hasn't had any issues with cleanliness. The menu is also a tad easier to understand too and the food is good and fairly inexpensive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
“Just nasty....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place is not any good. Worst service, nasty food and the place is in need of some remodeling. The service was beyond terrible. There is a better pho option in bcs.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Something Different in College Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I were in town for a softball tournament. I selected Pho Johns as we were craving something different from the usual steak/burger experience. I found this to be a pretty good stop. I ordered the steak/brisket pho. The portion was huge and (I thought) tasty. I had kind of expected a more fish sauce taste to the broth. The owner explained as we checked out that it is kind of a small town adaptation. A pho restaurant in a larger town will have more of a seafood broth. I really enjoyed it anyway. My wife had the chef's fried rice. Again, VERY large portion. Kind of dry, like some people have described, but she liked it very much. I would go back here any time we are craving something different.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
“Outstanding Restaurant, will go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I love Vietnamese food and thought I would stop in... the restaurant was outstanding, and the staff were great. Over all a great experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho John's also viewed

 
College Station, TX
College Station, TX
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho John's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.