We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Republic

The Republic
701 University Drive East, Suite 406, College Station, TX 77840
(979) 260-4120
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great restaurant, warm ambiance perfect for a business meal or romantic dinner. The wedge salad was out of this world as were the shrimp & grits. We topped it off with their pumpkin cheesecake, it was delicious! Very attentive servers and an extensive wine list.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    69
    13
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Plato would have rolled his eyes!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Dark, frumpy and pretentious; this strip center eatery means well but fails in the execution.
You have all been to this place before: great spirits and wine list and an interesting menu. While the makings of a lovely evening are present it doesn't come together.
The ambiance is old school and doesn't quite fit the strip center location, the service is college student amateurish and the food fails.
I ordered a bone in ribeye (a la carte) and asparagus. The ribeye was requested medium rare and charred. The meat I got was too fatty (even for a ribeye) and appeared grilled rather than charred. I didn't enjoy it.
The fried shrimp appeared limp and bland.
The short ribs were served on a bed of what appeared to be a polenta. O.K.
The big winner of the night appeared to be a Cajun fish dish with crawfish tails.
While I would probably dine here if I lived here and had no options; I would prefer to save my money or eat a steak at a chain and save half.
I wouldn't recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We ate here the night before the AR vs. A&M game, the service was awesome, as were all the Aggie fans,they could not have been more welcoming to us Razorback fans and the meal was fabulous. I thinks I had a bite of everyone one of the sides and they were all great. Needless to say that this was one of the highlights of our weekend as we are AR fans!!! LOL

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food just wasn't that good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Here was our meal:

Bottle of wine. We asked our waiter for a suggestion and he did not know anything about the Syrahs we wanted to drink. Not a terrible indictment, but the best restaurants have better staff, or at least a sommelier.

Bread and butter. Both incredibly salty.

Grilled Chimichurri steak appetizer. Again, overly salty. The meat was perfectly cooked, but had a liver taste, which is sometimes unavoidable on some cuts of meat, so we didn't blame them too much. We found the chimichurri pretty awful.

Arugala salad. Incredibly over dressed with a dressing that simply was not that tasty.

Shrimp and grits: This was excellent. I'd almost go back for this alone.

Dessert: A chocolate mousse cake. Fine, though nothing out of this world. The sides of strawberries and almond brittle were barely passable.

Overall, the restaurant has an up-scale feel, but our impression is that the chef doesn't really know what he or she is doing (or maybe just can't supervise their kitchen staff).

For a high-brow evening, Christopher's or Veritas are better options. For excellent food in a slightly more relaxed environment, Madden's is the best choice in my opinion. The good news is that we now have a variety of options in BCS. A huge change from just over a decade ago.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton across the street, which has a resturant inside (not very good).
My husband and I saw The Republic and decided to give it a try, because the parking lot was full.
The ladies at the front found us a lovely booth. We had Shay as our waiter, so professional and everything he recommended we tried. The oysters for app., shared the excellent think cut of the NY Strip on special, with the potatoes and califlower. Even the bread and butter was to die for. Please open one in Corpus Christi, Texas soon!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Republic also viewed

 

Been to The Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Republic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.