We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Succulent, fall-off-the-bone Ribs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltgrass Steak House

Saltgrass Steak House
4330 State Hwy 6, S College Station, College Station, TX 77845
+(1)(979) 690-0562
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 215 Restaurants in College Station
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Succulent, fall-off-the-bone Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The ribs are tender with a sauce that is not too bland, not too sweet, and not too spicy. Their steaks are great, too, but I usually opt for RIBS! If I can't finish them all (I typically have a half slab left) I warm them up the next day. They are even delicious COLD.

The wait staff is typically spot on. Eat there often enough and you might encounter a server who isn't up to par, but they weed them out pretty quickly.

Join their loyalty program...it's worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    35
    14
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've been to a few Saltgrass's that haven't lived up to my expectations of the chain, but this one was probably one of the best. I had the rib-eye with the garlic mashed potatoes and the steak was medium throughout (as ordered) and every tasty. Service was prompt and courteous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tasty Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went here for our anniversary. The range rattlers are a must. Jalapeno peppers stuffed with shrimp and cream cheese. The steaks were cooked to our liking just the way we asked. The waiter was very nice and attentive. Food portions are very large, we actually made it into two meals. It's a very nice place to celebrate a special occasion. Kudos to the chef for a well-prepared steak. The only downer was we mentioned it was our anniversary and we got absolutely nothing, most places at least give you a free dessert.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“The Noise is Deafening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've been to a lot of these, including this one. We had a family party of 8 for a celebration, and the din was nerve racking. Nobody at our table could hear conversations, which made for a rather unpleasant get together. My prime rib was good, my Mother's baked potato soup was a huge let down, salads are fresh--but $3 for a soda is over the top. I remember how excited I was when this chain first opened in the nineties. Things have changed. We'll go to Outback for our next steak fix.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Fort Worth
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“When you want a good steak, you can't go wrong here...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love my steaks! If you order one of the premium steaks here, you won't be sorry. I got the Porterhouse and it was like their menu describes: Two steaks in one! It was fabulous. A little thinner than I'd like, but was well seasoned and cooked perfectly (I like medium rare to rare...and it was great!!!). The Jalapeno Shrimp poppers are really good, too, but when they say "hot", they mean it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

 
College Station, TX
 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltgrass Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.