We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Could Do Worse in College Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites College Station / US 6-East Bypass

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites College Station / US 6-East Bypass to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites College Station / US 6-East Bypass
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   925 Earl Rudder Fwy. S., College Station, TX 77840   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in College Station
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“You Could Do Worse in College Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I would actually rate this at 3.5 stars. There was nothing egregiously wrong, just the usual minor annoyances. I stayed on the 2nd floor.

The closet didn't have a bar to hang one's clothes (like my suits) on, and the toilet needed a tune-up (you had to really play with the handle to get the toilet to flush). The first wash rag I started using in the shower had a a couple of icky black pubes really, really stuck in the fibers. The other rags were fine, as were the towels. Not a big deal. The internet was slower than usual for a Hampton Inn.

On the plus side, the shower head is nice and high so a tall guy like me doesn't have to slouch during my shower, and the water pressure and temp are great. The walls and floors seem to be well insulated, as there was no noise to be heard in the adjoining rooms. Room was very clean, including the bed.

I have stayed at the Hilton and the other Hampton Inn in College Station and I would rate this one the best. You get more for your money here than at the Hilton.

For an out-of-the ordinary quick meal, eat at one of the Freebirds World Burrito in town. It's fresher and more delicious than Chipotle, IMO.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    14
    3
    9
See reviews for
43
7
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The toilet was broken and was never fixed in a three day stay! I don't think the sheets were ever changed either! The shower also did not drain very well! Not a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Find a hotel under $119.00 a night with a working toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

If you are a Hilton Honors member and you are looking for a Hilton property to stay in while visiting College Station, skip the Hilton and make your reservations at this Hampton Inn. It seems counter intuitive. One would think that you'd get a fancier room and better service from a Hilton, but trust me, you will be dissappointed in the Hilton once you leave the common spaces and have to go to your room. The rooms are in tough shape and in desparate need of an update. Many are small and shabby. Not only that but many of double beds. Hello! Is this 1960? Kings or at least Queens are the standard. The common areas will tempt you to believe that this is an outstanding hotel, but don't take the bait. It will be switched when you enter your room.

On the other hand, the rooms at the Hampton are beautiful and recently updated. Yes, breakfast isn't as fancy, but it is free. The people who work at the Hampton are very accomodating and personable. You'll enjoy your stay. If traveling for business, the Hampton is well equiped. A full size desk in the room with plenty of power outlets and of course, high-speed internet. There is a business office that is in good shape as well. The one area where they could use some work is the fitness center. That is very weak. Cardio equipment only and no weights. Even the cardio equipment isn't in great shape, but from what I hear, they have a plan to fix that in the near future. They will also be upgrading the breakfast area. Give it a try next time you are in town. You won't be dissapointed. Test the staff, with a few requests and see what kind of response you recieve. They are good people who care about making your stay the best it can be.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I made reservations for 2 rooms last August via the phone with Linda for 2012 A&M graduation.Was told upon check in that I had booked 4 rooms,and upon presenting my printed confirmations showing 2 rooms and price that it didnt matter what my paperwork said,their computer said I reserved 4 rooms and so I was charged for all 4.Manager was rude and informed me that no matter what I said or had in writing I was wrong and that his staff does not make errors.This ruined a family members graduation.We will never stay at Hampton Inn again. This hotel is not honest.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J D, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites College Station / US 6-East Bypass, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Please reach out to us directly with your confirmation or HHonors number so that we may resolve this issue. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The Hampton Inn was a good choice for our one night stay in College Station. The hotel was fairly typical for the newer style Hampton Inn. The room was clean, beds were comfortable and the service was good. The breakfast bar area was clean & fairly typical as well.

The hotel is conveniently located to TAMU but far enough away from the campus main traffic area.

The price was reasonable for the area & I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Got stuck with the 3rd floor (I like the 1st). Ice machine wasn't working. This is huge for me. Had to go to the 2nd floor 2x per day. To get a fridge and microwave was an extra $20 per day, and I was there 3 days.
Room was clean. Staff was friendly. First night I had people all around, next two nights there was no one in the rooms next to me, which I appreciated. Like having laundry on each floor.
This year the breakfast seemed not as good. The eggs looked like they'd been sitting a while, and there wasn't much of them. The bacon was barely warm.
Overall, just not nice as visit as Jan 2011. Next year I'll go somewhere with fridge and microwave. Also, if your conference in on University, you have to travel south on the service road to take a u-turn to get right up to University on the north bound side of the freeway.

Room Tip: First floor is great, close access to fitness room, pool and business center so if you have to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This was our first stay at this hotel - Hampton delivers as it typically does.

This property is very nice overall with large entrance/dining/and living room area. The rooms are nicely sized and fit us just fine. The room, towels, and bed were clean and crisp. The beds were adequate in size. Breakfast was typical for a Hampton free continental with room. The staff was friendly. The property is a little far from campus but has easy access to the highway, food, etc.

The property has limited access in/out and it is difficult to make the entrance turn taking the exit recommended by the hotel. Exit early and ride the feeder to resolve this matter. Just be Our room did not have a kitchenette. The furnishings are looking a bit worn as is the bed in our room which led to an uncomfortable nights sleep. Even with the temperature dropping into the 40's at night outside the room always felt hot and stuffy - an issue that the front desk seemed to know about.

None of the items above are huge matters, really.

Our biggest issue was that our room was much pricier than expected. We had the government employee rate basis my wife's job. Upon arrival the clerk asked for ID. She did not have hers. We offered to show the front desk a photo of her on the state's internet site but the clerk indicated that was not sufficient proof. What? A photo with her on the state's web site with her title is not enough? That is silly. We acknowledge that this is as much our fault as is theirs since she did not bring her id BUT in our defense every Hampton we have been to previously has either not asked for id or they just had us fill out some paperwork. It is their right to ask specifically for id but it would be nice for them to let you know about their policy when making the reservation. This issue ended up costing us an extra $50/night for the room and left a bad taste in our mouths.

Without this poor customer service we would have given the property a "Very Good" rating but their negativity regarding the id brings them down to an "Average" rating.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool have the best view and are more quite. If you make a government employee rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites College Station / US 6-East Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites College Station / US 6-East Bypass

Address: 925 Earl Rudder Fwy. S., College Station, TX 77840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites College Station / US 6-East Bypass 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Highway 6, the Hampton Inn & Suites College Station/US 6-East Bypass provides easy access to Bryan and College Station. Join us for a free hot breakfast every morning and use free high-speed internet access in your comfortable room to stay connected with work and home. At our location on Earl Rudder Freeway South at University Drive, you'll be less than four miles from the campus of Texas A&M University. Cheer for the Aggies at a football game or catch a show at the Wolf Pen Creek Park and Amphitheater. Experience live music on Northgate, tour Messina Hof Winery or get a taste of history at the George Bush Presidential Library and Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites College Station / US 6-East Bypass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites College Station/Us 6-East Bypass
Hampton Inn & Suites College Station/Us 6-East Bypass Hotel College Station
Hampton Inn College Station
College Station Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites College Station / US 6-East Bypass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.