We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Institution for College Station!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dixie Chicken

Dixie Chicken
307 University, College Station, TX 77840
979.846.2332
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 240 Restaurants in College Station
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“An Institution for College Station!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A meal at Dixie Chicken, AKA The Bird, is a must when in College Station! It is an institution! I was immediately propelled back to my college days upon entering it's sacred halls. The music is loud and the lighting is dim; there are "dead animals" mounted on the walls and the bathrooms are small and graffiti-filled. They have a good, basic menu with something for everybody. We ordered the "bottle caps" or fried jalapenos. Everybody in our group was happy with their meals, be it chicken fingers or burgers. The beer is cold. We went on a Friday afternoon during the summer, so it wasn't very crowded, but I can imagine how packed it is during a football weekend or evenings. The staff was nice and it is a place we will frequent when visiting our college student.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“College Station landmarkj”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place has gained its reputation for being a hang-out for college students. The front faces University, but the parking is in the back (metered an 75 cents an hour - pay by credit card).The wooden picnic tables have years worth of carvings - hearts with initials, quippy sayings, etc. We were there for lunch in a Thursday and although there was a steady flow of people, it was not too crowded. The menu choices are limited to mostly sandwiches and burgers, with some appetizer choices. We had the chicken fried chicken sandwich basket which came with fries and a drink, It was reasonably priced and tasted very good. The counter staff took for granted that we knew what to do, but after we ordered and paid and stood there for 5 minutes, they informed us that they would call our name. There was country and western music blasting, some of which was not dining music such as "Copenhagen" about chewing and spitting tobacco. I have no desire to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as Great as We Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We've heard a lot of buzz about Dixie Chicken in Northgate. One person taking orders with a long line while several "workers" stood behind her talking and laughing with each other. Fajita chicken tacos were good, but the Dixie chicken strips weren't great. Dixie Chicken Northgate looks like a fun place to hang out if you're a college student.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Classic.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is one of the must stops when in College Station, Texas. After checking out to make sure the live rattlesnake ( yes you heard me correctly) was still in the display case by the billiard tables, I ordered the "DeathBurger". Heaven on a bun, but not for the faint of stomach. It was awesome!! Cold beer, good company, and a good burger if this ain't heaven it must be Aggieland! It make me sad to be a yankee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
599 reviews 599 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Yes, surprised. I went here wearing my school colors - you guessed it.... not Texas A&M. The staff and patrons were super nice. Maybe it was because it was June and not on game day. I suspect they are cordial all the time. And they seemed to agree with me that thwir heisman trophy winning quarterback better learn how to run out of bounds this coming season! Good luck Aggirs, unless you are playing my Jayhawks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Dixie Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixie Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.