We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Great as We Expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dixie Chicken

Dixie Chicken
307 University, College Station, TX 77840
979.846.2332
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 240 Restaurants in College Station
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Carthage, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as Great as We Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We've heard a lot of buzz about Dixie Chicken in Northgate. One person taking orders with a long line while several "workers" stood behind her talking and laughing with each other. Fajita chicken tacos were good, but the Dixie chicken strips weren't great. Dixie Chicken Northgate looks like a fun place to hang out if you're a college student.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Classic.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is one of the must stops when in College Station, Texas. After checking out to make sure the live rattlesnake ( yes you heard me correctly) was still in the display case by the billiard tables, I ordered the "DeathBurger". Heaven on a bun, but not for the faint of stomach. It was awesome!! Cold beer, good company, and a good burger if this ain't heaven it must be Aggieland! It make me sad to be a yankee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
599 reviews 599 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Yes, surprised. I went here wearing my school colors - you guessed it.... not Texas A&M. The staff and patrons were super nice. Maybe it was because it was June and not on game day. I suspect they are cordial all the time. And they seemed to agree with me that thwir heisman trophy winning quarterback better learn how to run out of bounds this coming season! Good luck Aggirs, unless you are playing my Jayhawks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nostalgia reigns at the Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

You have to realize that the Chicken is a student bar at Texas A&M. That's all that it was ever meant to be. For A&M grads, however, that makes it sacred ground. Where else can you walk through an alley of discarded bottlecaps - some probably going back decades - and push open swinging doors like a saloon of the old west. The food is like any dive bar in America - a little greasy, but in a delicious way. We loved the Tiajuana Fries as an appetizer, and the cheeseburgers for an entree, washed down with Lone Star beer - and yes, they know enough to give you the bottlecap so you can solve the puzzle while enjoying the brew. What a laid-back, relaxed place to spend a little time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Long Wait on Saturday for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Chicken was good, beer prices by the pitcher were good too. It was a long wait (in line) for placing food orders.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Dixie Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixie Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.