We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the short drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of C & J Bar-B-Que Market

C & J Bar-B-Que Market
4304 Harvey Rd, College Station, TX 77845-9437
979-776-8969
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 229 restaurants in College Station
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Well worth the short drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I love BBQ and this was a very nice find thanks to a local. I had the brisket which was quite moist and tasty along with the turkey. I got a taste of the jalapeño sausage and that tasted great too. As for sauce, they had several to choose from but, admittedly, I stuck with the regular which was just right. The fried okra was wonderfully crunchy and the sweet tea was just right. The restaurant is typical country BBQ with a service line and you're served in a styrofoam container. The décor is also typical kitsch so BBQ fans surely will feel at home. The tables have plenty of paper towels plus there is outdoor seating if you would like. The soda fountain set up is pretty normal with large tea dispensers to the side. By the way, you know the food must be good when the cook is as large as a small steer.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    19
    13
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pearl River, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Must Have!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Big heaping portions of meat, tasty sides and at a real good price. Definitely a place you should try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is probably one of the best bar-b-que places in town - they don't add all that nasty fat which I can't stomach - it's fresh and always good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Some of the best Bar-B-Que I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I love this place! The food is wonderful. I really enjoy the lunch specials and how it is a different meat every day of the week. The lunch specials come with a lot of food at a decent price. Last time I went they even had the foods that are heart healthy marked on the menu.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Like home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The atmosphere is homey, the food is great, and you just have to save room for some peach cobbler. It's just like your grandma used to make!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C & J Bar-B-Que Market also viewed

 
College Station, TX
College Station, TX
 

Been to C & J Bar-B-Que Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C & J Bar-B-Que Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.