We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express College Station

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express College Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express College Station
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3702 State Highway 6 South, College Station, TX 77845   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #28 of 29 hotels in College Station
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    41
    49
    69
See reviews for
91
10
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The assistant manager, Sheila, is the rudest person I’ve ever encountered and has no business in customer service.

I’m in the military and had to cancel a trip to College Station because of work obligations. I was unable to get in touch with anyone at the hotel the day before, so I contacted the national office the morning of my planned stay.

Despite the national office calling on my behalf and explaining the situation, Sheila refused to cancel my reservation and insisted I was going to be charged for that night. The customer service representative at the national office was so appalled by Sheila’s attitude, she actually told me to call my credit card company and dispute the charge.

I tried calling the hotel directly to resolve the issue and assure Sheila that I visit College Station regularly and would likely stay there in the future, but she told me she didn’t care if I ever did business with them again. When I asked to speak to a manager, she said it wouldn’t matter if I did because she makes the decisions anyway.

I don’t know how this hotel continues to operate with this kind of customer service. Avoid it at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room had a slightly bad smell to it. The curtains did not completely block the view in the window.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a room here when, literally, nothing else was available- we were in for a NSC for TAMU.. I was very skeptical because of other reviews. The motel in general, I feel,is a bit run down but I do have to say that the room was clean, bathroom was clean & beds were all right, too. There were some things that were a bit dated but everything did work. One night here was fine, it gave us a clean, decent place to sleep, shower and get on with the day ahead of us. Price was not unreasonable for last minute booking, it all worked in a pinch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The manager was arguing with a girl around 19 who was trying to purchase a hotel room and then proceeded to complain to me about the girl and was hanging up on her mom. She should definetly not be a manger if she does not have people skills. I was very offended

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Express College Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express College Station

Address: 3702 State Highway 6 South, College Station, TX 77845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 hotels in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express College Station 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express College Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express College Station Hotel College Station

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express College Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.