We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs?!?!?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express College Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express College Station to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express College Station
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1203 University Drive East, College Station, TX 77840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in College Station
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bed bugs?!?!?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

I am staying here to visit Texas A&M for a workshop. I was pretty much satisfied until this morning. I got out of bed and noticed a small reddish dead bug in my bed with a couple of blood marks on the sheets. I'm suspecting bed bugs and am super, super grossed out. I still have to stay here one more night and have no idea how I'm going to make it through! And I'm terrified I'm going to bring home bed bugs to my house! This is the most disgusting thing I've ever experienced in my life.

Other than the bed bugs, I had nothing to complain about. I would not have complained about the hotel at all. The people were really nice...but this is the first time I've ever seen a dead bug in my bed and I've traveled a lot.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
5
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

Booked a one night stay at the hotel because of an early morning Boy Scout event at A&M university that we were attending on a Saturday.

The room was fine, we were only there from about 9pm until 7 am because of the event so I really don't have much experience on the service but when I got back home on Monday and checked my bank account I noticed that the hotel had charged my debit card $500 dollars, which was particularly odd since I had paid in cash when I checked in.

Upon contacting the hotel I was immediatly given the manager who told me in a huff that I had been smoking in my room and thats why I had been charged the $500. I told him that was quite funny because I don't smoke so what proof did he have for charging my account. He stated that the cleaning service smelled smoke when they cleaned my room so they automatically charged me upon hearing that. Upon further complaint from me, he agreed to refund the $500 bucks but it was a pain to wait 7 days until it showed back up in my account.

Just beware that they can pull crap like this if you don't watch out.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bank Account being charged without knowledge
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2007

Stayed here one night on business. I've stayed at this hotel a few times before - it is very reliable. Clean rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff, all add up to a great place to stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Reliability - what I expected is what I experienced.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Wedding guests for daughter's wedding sold out the hotel. People's reservations were cancelled; then rescheduled; then after lengthy talk with managers were able to straighten out info. Price quoted for
block rooms was not what was charged on check-out. Had to go back to management to get the price quoted earlier. Such a hassle. If no one said anything, they were charged higher price. Many guests said they were given wrong directions to church/reception site. How hard is it to provide guests with map to needed facilities? One guest was charged twice for room; another was charged for room they had no idea
who stayed there. Amenities furished in one room flat "stunk"...we had to throw all of them away! We asked for washcloths for our bath (none came with the towels)...took over hour to get stack of towels..
again NO washcloths. They even asked me to come down to housekeeping to pick them up. The night-time attendants were not dressed appropriately for hotel desk. Both looked like they were going to dance at a nightclub after they got off work. Manager said they had ordered uniforms for them. Breakfast was great! Be sure to assert yourself if you stay here...you will have problems/personnel only says "I'm sorry"...offers no alternative. You have to insist on what you want!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

I had not stayed here in two years and was a bit concerned by the mixed reviews since then. But I was pleasantly surprised. Arrived early evening and my reservation folder was waiting for me. We had a second floor room with two queen beds and it was spacious, clean and equipped with a small microwave and fridge. The microwave came in handy as the wife wanted to make hot tea. Despite the hotel being fully booked that night, we heard no noise and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was satisfactory but the scrambled eggs were not hot and had an unusual consistency.

Business office had two computers and a laser printer. Everything worked for us to print our boarding passes. Made some local calls too. No charge for them.

The front desk is manned by Texas A&M students so do not expect professional Holiday Inn staffers. Overall it was a nice stay but a little overpriced.

Points deducted for not having express check out. I had to check out at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

Uncomfortable beds to even sit on. Dirty linens. Bathroom was dirty and there was something that looked like a roach smashed on the bottom/side of the trial-size conditioner they provide. The telephones didn't work with a radio coming across much like a party line. The paint fumes were nauseating and to top it all off the elevators stopped working during the morning check out time. Third floor level is the exact height of their parking lights, and the curtains don't help.The hotel staff were rude and don't expect the items they list, such as a newspaper or local calls.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The stay
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2007

Previously, I gave this place a good review, but I had a bad experience on my last stay. I had made my reservation through my corporate travel office, but their prices went up after I made my reservation. When I checked out, they told me that I owed the higher rate even though I had a confirmation at the lower rate. I have never heard of a hotel doing this before. The manager overheard my conversation at the front desk, and he told me that I owed the higher rate. When I returned home, I contacted the travel office and they contacted InterContinental who told them I should not have been charged the higher rate. They told me that I would get a refund, but that was 6 days ago and it still hasn't come through. In addition, I used the fitness room and I was not satisfied. The elliptical machine kept shutting off during my workout. One treadmill did not work. The television did not work either. Other than that, it was a good stay. (If it wasn't company policy, I WOULD try somewhere else next time.)

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express College Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express College Station

Address: 1203 University Drive East, College Station, TX 77840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express College Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites College Station is ready to meet all your business and leisure needs. We offer large comfortable rooms, business center, fitness center, guest laundry, and free wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms. Conveniently located in Bryan/College Station close to Texas A&M University & Blinn College - Bryan Campus. Come to relax at our friendly, clean and comfortable hotel. Additional hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hard boiled eggs plus bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit College Station, TX and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express College Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express College Station Hotel College Station
Holiday Inn College Station
College Station Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express College Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.