We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Slice of History!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Bush Presidential Library and Museum

George Bush Presidential Library and Museum
1000 George Bush Drive West, College Station, TX 77845
979-691-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Libraries, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The George Bush Presidential Library and Museum is a research institution and academic environment dedicated to the preservation, research and exhibit of official records, personal papers and memorabilia from the life and career of George H.W. Bush, the 41st President of the United States, with more than 43 million pages of official and personal papers, 2 million photos, 2,500 hours of videotape and 100,000 museum objects. Covering much of U.S. history since 1941, the library and museum features a World War II Avenger Torpedo Bomber, a 1947 Studebaker, a piece of the Berlin Wall, and precise replicas of President Bush's Oval Office, Camp David office and White House Situation Room. The museum also features a temporary exhibit gallery which lends to an ever-changing museum to visit. Museum hours are Monday through Saturday from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday from noon to 5 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Slice of History!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I had the opportunity to visit the George Bush Presidential Library recently and I was very pleasantly surprised at the detail they have in this presidential museum. I have visited most of the presidential museums and this one does the best in providing the details of the presidents life before and during the presidency. I have a tremendous amount of respect for George Bush after discovering all he endured and overcame during his life. From his military service to the business he started and succeed to the presidency is an incredible story of American opportunity. I truly enjoyed this museum and the way it presented President George Bush. I highly recommend the museum, you will enjoy the experience as much as I did I'm sure!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    59
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Porte
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

There are lots of items and pictures from the G.H.W. Bush's. It was very informative to learn about the Presidents younger life and all he has done for his country. While there you are reminded of the history of a certain time in the U.S.. It was fun and educational.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was such a surprise and enjoyable experience; have visited several Presidential Libraries and this is by far the best; upon entering the volunteers/staff are so welcoming and friendly; the exhibits are very well done including interactive exhibits for children; what an impressive museum and what an impressive legacy Bush Senior has left. We usually spend 2-2/12 hours when visiting museums --- we were there 4 hours! and enjoyed every minute --- the time flew by

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Well done presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

A good overview of President G. H. W. Bush. Strong emphasis on the family as that is what he is about. Also shows the other things he did in government service, Director of C.I.A., U.N. Ambassador, etc. Less focus on any legislative accomplishments compared to the Johnson Library which we visited recently. Some reviewer was put off by the oil exhibit but this is Texas and it is where he got his start and made his money. Definitely worth seeing. We spent 3+ hours and the time went quickly.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very Interesting & Lots to See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have visited the Ronald Reagan Library as well as the George W Bush library. I enjoyed this one as much as the Ronald Reagan Library. This is very well laid out and has lots to see from his administration. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. Had my picture taken in the Oval Office with my camera which was really nice. Would recommend about 4 hours to visit this library. There was also a special exhibit on the oil rigging industry as well. Only had about 15 minutes to 'power' through that.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Bush Presidential Library and Museum also viewed

 
College Station, TX
 

Been to George Bush Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Bush Presidential Library and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.