We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Presidential Library worth seeing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Bush Presidential Library and Museum

George Bush Presidential Library and Museum
1000 George Bush Drive West, College Station, TX 77845
979-691-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Libraries, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The George Bush Presidential Library and Museum is a research institution and academic environment dedicated to the preservation, research and exhibit of official records, personal papers and memorabilia from the life and career of George H.W. Bush, the 41st President of the United States, with more than 43 million pages of official and personal papers, 2 million photos, 2,500 hours of videotape and 100,000 museum objects. Covering much of U.S. history since 1941, the library and museum features a World War II Avenger Torpedo Bomber, a 1947 Studebaker, a piece of the Berlin Wall, and precise replicas of President Bush's Oval Office, Camp David office and White House Situation Room. The museum also features a temporary exhibit gallery which lends to an ever-changing museum to visit. Museum hours are Monday through Saturday from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday from noon to 5 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Van Buren, Arkansas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A Presidential Library worth seeing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This Library does celebrate the man but is visitor friendly. the exhibits are great and some are interacting. the temporary exhibits concern not only national but regional concerns.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    59
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Well Rounded Beautiful Presidential Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Amazing experience seeing and reading about the life and times of US President, #41, George H.W. Bush. Beginning with his childhood, to playing sports, attending Yale, enlisiting as a naval aviator at 18 years of age to fight in WWII, to heroism in battle, to early business pursuits and eventual political aspirations, it's a well documented perspective on his and Mrs. Bush's life.

Consider an hour and a half for a decent skimming of what's there, likely need 2.5-3.5 hours to really read and see all while taking your time strolling within the museum.

The drive is about an hour plus from Houston, TX.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeland, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting. Historical value is excellent, presentations first rate, and staff is available to aid with questions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

For my own interest and for my friends we brought along it was a wonderful presentation of some of the history of our country and of the life of one of our President of the United States and the events that we survived during those times. Loved it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Enjoyable & Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have visited the museum & garden several times, and each time we learned something new. This is a great opportunity to learn about the Bush family and their dedication to public service. Certainly worth a visit. Make sure you take time to visit garden area near the pond.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I liked the way the displays were set up. You can rush through or take your time. I feel like I got to know George on a personal level after going through. The limo was pretty impressive and I enjoyed the video carrier landing practice.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Bush Presidential Library and Museum also viewed

 
College Station, TX
 

Been to George Bush Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Bush Presidential Library and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.