We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Presidential libraries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Bush Presidential Library and Museum

George Bush Presidential Library and Museum
1000 George Bush Drive West, College Station, TX 77845
979-691-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Libraries, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The George Bush Presidential Library and Museum is a research institution and academic environment dedicated to the preservation, research and exhibit of official records, personal papers and memorabilia from the life and career of George H.W. Bush, the 41st President of the United States, with more than 43 million pages of official and personal papers, 2 million photos, 2,500 hours of videotape and 100,000 museum objects. Covering much of U.S. history since 1941, the library and museum features a World War II Avenger Torpedo Bomber, a 1947 Studebaker, a piece of the Berlin Wall, and precise replicas of President Bush's Oval Office, Camp David office and White House Situation Room. The museum also features a temporary exhibit gallery which lends to an ever-changing museum to visit. Museum hours are Monday through Saturday from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday from noon to 5 p.m.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Dallas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the best Presidential libraries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Excellent representation of the Bush's service to their country. Has wonderful way to keep the children included in the exhibits through scavenger hunts. Very well done and entertaining. The curators change a portion of the exhibits about every six months relevant to the season of the year or current events.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    59
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Worth several hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is the story of George's life of public service and left me appreciating what a decent man he was. In comparison to other presidents, not as much happened during his time in office but the museum is very well done.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Made me fall in love with President Bush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

It was an awesome insight into the life and family of one of America's leaders. I gained a lot of respect for President Bush and his leadership at different phases of his career. The experience the curators created was thoughtful, fun, interactive and informative. I love museums, go to them whenever I can, and this was one of the better ones. I strongly recommend it!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipe Creek, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Enjoyed the grounds it's on, very pleasing and easy to walk around. Loved the Air Force One replica & Mrs. Bush's section.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I visited the Bush Museum after my trip to Austin Tx. I decided to drive over and hit College Station before making my drive back to Arkansas. Very worth the trip. I have visited 5 other presidential museums before this and I must say this is one of my favorite. It may be because Bush is really the first president that I can remember being in office. The museum workers were very friendly and made sure to mention the garden and burial site located behind the museum so I could see them at the end of my visit. This museum is located on the beautiful campus of Texas A&M. There are so many great things to see. One of my favorites was the temporary exhibit on how the election process has worked throughout history up through current times. There is also a section of the Berlin wall that was presented to President Bush that I thought was amazing. I love this museum and wish it closer to Arkansas so I could visit again.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Bush Presidential Library and Museum also viewed

 
College Station, TX
 

Been to George Bush Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Bush Presidential Library and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.