We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally unprepared to host marathoners.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1010 Southwest Pkwy East, College Station, TX 77840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in College Station
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Totally unprepared to host marathoners.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Closest hotel to BCS Marathon start and they won't give late check out and have the included continental breakfast starting at the same time as the race. We travel all over for marathons and usually the hotels are excited and prepared to host us. This one is definitely not! Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
country1010, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    30
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
54
16
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Was in College Station for two nights in November 2013.

Check in was quick but the person did not know how to handle my request for frequent flyer account (Southwest Rapid Rewards) credit. I had to return the next day for the staff to add the information to my reservation folio. They have coffee and fresh-made cookies at the desk, which was a nice touch.

Room was good size, clean and comfortable. Lighting a little dim in the room, but fine in bathroom. Comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, in-room coffee and good selection of TV stations. Large shower, but no tub in bathroom (not an issue for me). No in-room safe.

Moderate freeway noise in my room, facing east. I'm guessing the other side of the hall (even numbered rooms) was quieter. Access was easy and traffic was not bad on Southwest Pkwy, much less than the area around the other hotels on University Ave.

Easy close parking, free WiFi which was spotty, and a small but adequate fitness room which wasn't crowded during my stay. Free breakfast was mediocre. Free copies of USA Today available. Didn't use the business center. Staff very friendly.

Hotels in College Station seemed a bit pricey compared with other Texas cities, for what you get.

Room Tip: try the even numbered room facing away from the freeway for less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
country1010, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We are sorry to hear that the front desk did not have knowledge about the Southwest rewards program with Country Inn & Suites. I have passed your feedback along to the rest of the front desk team. Next time you are in the area we hope that you choose our property because we would love to have you as a guest. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsbee,Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having traveled to see friends and family after a nearby festival, we found we were just too tired to drive back home. I found this hotel on my phone and liked that there was a last minuet booking deal. Arriving at 10 pm on a Saturday, check in was hassle free and took under 5 minuets. Walking into a Clean, Nicely furnished room that was beyond what I had expected was great! The King bed was Fantastic! I loved that the bedspread was not the usual tacky multicolored that I've always seen. The bed linens were crisp, clean and wonderful. There were a few dings in the bathroom. Cracked plaster near the base boards and scratched sink base but honestly it didn't even effect my impression. The Breakfast that was offered the next morning was better that I expected. I'm used to the cold cereal and maybe donuts set up. The hot oatmeal, eggs, bacon, Waffle bar, etc was phenomenal. The area was kept clean and fully stocked for the entire time we were eating. Check out was simple and quick. This is now our place to stay when we are anywhere near the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Augustine, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We've been staying here for about 4 years, as we have two Aggies! We hate staying anywhere else, and usually they find a spot for us even if something happens and we have to book at short notice. The customer is the #1 priority here, and if you have any issues, Mr. Patel and Kristen will quickly take care of them. The breakfast is great, the staff calls you by name, and we do feel safe and comfortable here. We always thank the staff for making our stay comfortable but thought I would do it in writing. Stay here, but save me a room!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Been staying here for a few months now. Great service and very friendly staff. If you need anything at all...you just ask and they try to accommodate. Great pillows on the beds too!!! The outside pool area is very nice with a waterfall and hot tub. Breakfast provided in the mornings is always good with a wide range of choices and the breakfast staff is very friendly as well. I would recommend a stay here anytime!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suited for a gameday trip and there were some fumbles to say the least during our stay.

First, beware putting the address of the hotel in your iPhone maps app, it won't lead you all the way down to the hotel. We had to call and get better directions which was fine. The hotel was not walking distance to campus but we knew that going in so we were ok.

Checking in was a breeze, everyone we encountered working the front desk during our stay was great. Very hospitable and willing to help.

We get to the room and it's just "ok." The layout was fine but the lighting was terrible! Not enough lamps or central lighting. The furniture looked a little old and worn down but I suppose that's to be expected.

This is where I had the HUGE problem: housekeeping is awful, I mean TERRIBLE! The room was a bit dusty, the bathroom was not spotless, the shower curtain needed to be replaced, the carpet needed to be vacuumed better and there were stains on the inside of the comforter. Also, you have 2 tiny trash cans in the room, definitely not enough.

A MAJOR miss was this: we had our do not disturb sign on the door until 10:30am when we left for the game. I took it off the door and left. When we came back EXHAUSTED that night, our room had not been visited by housekeeping!!! I called the front desk and she said housekeeping was of course gone for the day and they did not clean our room because I had the sign on the door. Um, that means housekeeping came to our door before 10:30am and because we had the sign on the door that early, they thought that meant don't clean our room for the rest of the day. The truth is they were just lazy and probably wanted to go home early. It was awful. Then, all the front desk could do was offer us fresh towels and when they brought them up, one had a huge hole.

This situation with housekeeping was NOT ok. We couldn't speak to a manager because they don't work on the weekends but we will definitely be calling this Monday to get part of our room stay refunded. It's not fair I pay full rate for a room and not get a service such as housekeeping.

On another note, the complimentary breakfast was good. Eggs, waffles, pastries, sausage, potatoes, yogurt, cereal, fruit, oatmeal, juices, coffee.... service at breakfast was nice.

Would I stay here again....probably not.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
country1010, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your lengthy review, I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you mentioned. we have addressed your various concerns with our Housekeeping. I would like to assure you we take our guests concerns very seriously and ensure this is never repeated. At Country Inn & Suites we work very hard to offer our guests a great stay, and this time we failed to do so, once again please accept my abject apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice rooms, reasonably priced, and great staff!! Travel to the area quite frequently for business and have always enjoyed staying. Staff is very friendly and helpful! Great location and very quiet. Would highly recommend to anyone traveling to the Bryan/College Station area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station

Address: 1010 Southwest Pkwy East, College Station, TX 77840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Country Inn & Suites of College Station is open for business! Our beautiful property is located on Southwest Pkwy, minutes from Texas A&M University, with easy access to all of Bryan and College Station. We do offer the state rate as well as special group rates. We hope you consider us for your meeting, event, and accommodation needs and look forward to doing business with you!Hotel amenities include:• Business Center featuring a computer, printer access, free Wi-Fi and fax services • Complimentary hot breakfast Mon-Fri 6am-9:30am, Sat-Sun and holidays 7am-10:30am• Coffee, tea and cookies available at the front desk 24 hours (complimentary)• Daily housekeeping service• Fitness Center with treadmill, elliptical machine, stationary bike and multi-weight system• Forgotten items service• Club CarlsonSM hotel rewards program (Earn 15 points per dollar spent)• Group rates available• High-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel and guest rooms (complimentary)• Guest laundry facilities• Local calls (complimentary)• Meeting room (accommodates up to 60 people)• Outdoor pool and spa• Parking on-site (complimentary)• Read It & Return lending library• Weekday USA Today newspaper (complimentary)• All hotel rooms feature a flat screen TV, refrigerator and microwave, as well as a spacious granite-appointed bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.