We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't hate them for special event pricing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 College Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 College Station to your Saves list
Super 8 College Station
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   301 Texas Ave., Business Rt 6 & Texas Avenue S, College Station, TX 77840-1721   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in College Station
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Can't hate them for special event pricing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Overall, not a bad stay. Location is excellent w/a Sonic next door and very close to campus. Place is older & could use a fresh coat of paint, but relatively clean - bathroom was spotless & I wasn't nervous about showering w/o shoes on for once (though they need to just rip the carpet out & put in some laminate or wood-looking latex flooring b/c that navy blue just shows every bit of dust, and the smell of the Arm & Hammer vacuum bag stuff just isn't very pleasing). Bed was comfortable, though the blanket was not a double sized blanket so the spouse & I played tug-o-war all night. Also, the lobby area had a strong disinfectant smell that kind of made my nose burn).

Other than that, our stay was good. Staff was friendly & helpful, and they added to the continental breakfast offerings w/some eggs & sausage in honor of Ring Day/Parent's Weekend, so that was nice...especially considering the price we paid for the room (which was more than double what they normally charge, thanks to the special events on campus, BUT, you can't hate them for doing what everyone else in town does when every bed in town is guaranteed to sell...it's called supply & demand folks...yes, I know it's also called price gouging, but if you've waited until everything else is booked, unless you have a friend in town or w Fifth wheel, you take what you can get, and feel lucky to have found anything at all). If you are wondering how they get away w/jacking up their prices on special event weekends, look at the notice on the back of the door to the room...it states their regular price is $199, so those who have gotten the room for $69 got a great deal according to them...Even if that $69 is all year except game weekends, graduation, etc.

I'd stay there again, but only if I could get the cheap/regular rate...otherwise, I will try not to do the last minute thing ever again...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    22
    13
    16
See reviews for
22
20
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is a dump. There are better dorm rooms on campus than this waste. All furniture is from the 1980 to 1983 period. I don't mind the music and films from that era but don't make me live for a few nights with the same furniture. Who on Earth owns this chain? Seriously. ..RENOVATE OR DEMOLISH!!!!! JUST TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Maybe because I am obviously a Senior Citizen (age 69 and a bit stooped) and requested a Senior Rate, we were assigned an “Accessible Room” with king-size bed on the first floor - Rm 109.

The king-size bed was clean (read my other reviews in B/CS to learn why we learned to search a motel bed in 2-5 minutes) and comfortable. We do question how accessible the room really is.

The bathroom was apparently retrofitted in an older building in an attempt to meet the accessible rules. The bathroom was expanded into the room and the tub is one that is elevated to accommodate drain plumbing under the tub without excavating into the slab. Consequently, entering the tub requires a step up over the side and the tub bottom is 3 to 4 inches above the bathroom floor. Once wet, we found the tub bottom very slippery, so much so that my wife and I quickly learned to stand by to assist the one entering and exiting the tub/shower. The grab bars were installed and most anyone assigned this room will use them. The tub/shower is fitted with an extremely nice hand-held shower head that we greatly prefer over the fixed shower head in most motels. Temperature control on the shower fixture is one of the best I have ever found in a hotel room. The bathroom floor is nice tile, but the tile is also slippery when wet and the supplied bath mat is extremely small, similar to a hand towel size.

Expanding the bathroom consumed a significant amount of room space, especially for a king-size bed. My wife is a retired RN with BS and MS in Nursing 40+ years of hospital experience, including 20+ years in rehabilitation. In her opinion, a queen or full bed would be much more useable (safe) in the available space. Space is completely inadequate for a wheelchair patient, and one with a walker could be at significant risk. If you really need an accessible room, look elsewhere. In fact, if I were alone, I would be reluctant to stay overnight in this room for fear of falling in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Avoid accessible rooms, or at least avoid any with King-size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I found this Super 8 motel while driving to the Bush Presidential Library and Museum. It's on Texas Avenue, which is the main street connecting Bryan and College Station. It's very close to the Texas A and M campus, and also near one of my favorite cafeterias, which is Luby's. The motel was well maintained, and was quiet. I had a good night's rest, and would definitely consider staying here again the next time I'm in College Station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRIPPING SPRINGS
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Every time I stay at the Super 8 in College Station, I am always happy to stay there. The Manager and Assistant Desk clerks are friendly, helpful, respectful and just nice. Rooms are clean and that is why I have made this particular hotel my regular place to stay when I am there. I recommend it most positively.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 College Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 College Station

Address: 301 Texas Ave., Business Rt 6 & Texas Avenue S, College Station, TX 77840-1721
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 College Station 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 College Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 College Station Hotel College Station
Super Eight College Station
College Station Super Eight
College Station Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 College Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.